This virtual open office hour is designed to allow library staff from any FLVC institution to “drop in” and ask questions regarding acquisitions & serials, cataloging, and managing electronic resources in Alma. FLVC staff members familiar with the functionalities of Alma will offer training and advice. Staff from other institutions are encouraged to comment and offer guidance on any issues that are discussed as well.
The open office will be held on the 1st Tuesday of each month, from 2:00-3:00 PM ET.
See the Teams link below for access.
Microsoft Teams meeting
Join on your computer, mobile app or room device
Click here to join the meeting
Meeting ID: 222 706 510 218
Passcode: nFv6Uj
Download Teams | Join on the web
Or call in (audio only)
+1 850-792-8632,,489354884# United States, Tallahassee
Phone Conference ID: 489 354 884#
Find a local number | Reset PIN
| Recording Link and Date | Subjects Covered |
|---|---|
|
February 4, 2025 |
FLVC's Jamie Fenton provides an overview and process to update thumbnail templates for streaming video, as referenced in FGCU's presentation in Pt. 1. In Pt. 2, Jamie discusses normalization rules to format 856 fields for vendor provided records, as well as using the portfolio loader to change coverage dates for streaming video. |
| January 14, 2025 | FLVC's Daniel Cromwell demonstrates searching and functionality of the new All Titles search interface, introduced by Ex Libris in December 2024. We briefly discussed the upcoming implementation plan for the Next Discovery Experience, set for May 2025. |
| November 5, 2024 | Demonstration of setting up controlled vocabulary for local extensions in the metadata editor, FLVC sought feedback for the Primo VE Research Assistant for schools that have implemented. Announcement of Alma new features webinar on November 19, at 10am ET. |
| October 1, 2024 | PHSC discusses experience with recent patron load system change to Banner, including migration process and troubleshooting aspects. UNF migrating from Banner to Workday, slowly moving over patron data and will consult with FLVC. SUSHI harvesting for Brill now requires entry in Platform field of Account Details for successful harvest. |
| September 11, 2024 | Serial prediction pattern, combined issues demo. Discussion regarding Level 3 and 4 holdings for 863 and 866 fields. EBSCOhost new interface, and request of new profile for PICO searching for CIHNAL Ultimate collection (must request additional view from EBSCO). Starting October 2024, new time of office hours (First Tuesday of the month from 2-3pm ET). |
| August 14, 2024 | PHSC Banner user migration in Alma, ADA New Title II Regulations for Websites and Mobile Apps- Library Accessibility Alliance resources provided by the FLVC LAA Standing Committee, Associating a PO line to a serial holding to receive, PO line template management, Local Equipment Thumbnail templates for lendable equipment (linking template and parameters for images stored in the Alma Customization Package). |
| July 10, 2024 | OCLC Datasync process, process of correcting duplicate records in NZ, correcting CDI records, Report of ELUNA 2024 sessions. |
| June 11, 2024 | Autoholdings and RapidILL |
| May 8, 2024 | Overview of Alma's new (May 2024 release) Order It! Amazon quick ordering tool, Primo VE Collections Discovery configuration and management, Connexion web browser discontinued April 2024, can use Worldshare Record Manager or Connexion desktop client- email help@flvc.org for assistance with transition. Alma May 2024 releases FLVC webinar will be held June 11, 2024 at 10-11:30am. |
| April 10, 2024 | Finding and activating electronic collections and portfolios in the CZ, deleting e-resources from the IZ. Ghost records in Primo VE (while Primo is re-indexing, records may linger but eventually will be removed from Primo). Discussing the cons of the "Change Physical Items Information" job when changing all items of print periodical's holdings- instead want to use "Change holdings information" job. |
| March 13, 2024 | Questions about restricted availability statuses for external records, adding custom e-resource coverage dates in batch via the Portfolio Loader or Autoholdings, and bringing records for print books into an Institution Zone from the Network Zone, as well as some e-resources issues related to Springer autoholdings (now resolved), Unpaywall linking (top priority, being worked on by Ex Libris), and citation linker functionality (now resolved) |
| February 14, 2024 | E-resources enhancements from the February feature release, questions about the benefits and logistics of Rialto implementation and issues some schools are experiencing, and troubleshooting a POL issue |
| January 17, 2024 | Introducing Padlet, showing how to set up the Primo VE Feedback Tool, a licensing bug that will be fixed with the February 2024 feature release, cleaning up records with notes about an item processing status code |
| December 13, 2023 | Installing cloud apps to Alma and basic description of functionality for "Item Updater by Excel" Cloud App. Questions about PO lines in claim in Alma (continuous PO lines, and items not received by expected receipt date). Unpaywall set up, Wiley and Springer Autoholding errors in Alma. |
| November 15, 2023 | Questions regarding uploading .csv or PDF source MARC records to Alma, Journal level collections in the CZ, and ordering glitches in Rialto. Discussion on CDI activation for different types of collections. New PO line task list is now default, but users can opt out until February 2024. |
| October 11, 2023 | Auto-packaging Continuous Order Lines, Releasing catalog records in the Metadata Editor, Creating access fee and processing charge PO line types (Order without Inventory), How to manage PO lines for orders with print & electronic inventory. |
| September 13, 2023 | Creating, testing, and applying a norm rule on batch and single record. Configuring local search field as facet option in Alma Advanced Search |
| August 9, 2023 | Collection-Level CDI settings in Primo, Loading KBART files into local electronic collection, Primo Resource Types |
| July 12, 2023 | May 2023 Alma Releases |