FL-Islandora Guide: X. Collection Management

1. Logged in, navigate to the collection that needs editing.

2. Click on the Collection.

3. Click the Edit button.

4. Click into the Title box to edit it.

5. Click on Descriptions and Notes to add a description to the collection.

6. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click the Save button.

7. Now the collection has a new title and a description.

How to Add an Image Banner

1. Login and navigate to the collection that you want to add an image banner to.

2. Click the Media button.

3. Click the Add Media button.

4. Click Image.

5. Click the Browse button. Select Original File from under Media Use. Scroll down to the bottom and click the Save button.

6. Click Back to site to get back to the collection.

7.  Click on Edit. Scroll down to System. In the Representative Image box, click on the Add media button. Click the Save button at the bottom. This will make the banner appear.

 

8.  Now you see a banner image in the collection.

 

How to Add a Thumbnail

1. Login and navigate to the collection that you want to add a thumbnail to.

2. Click the Media button.

3. Click the Add Media button.

4.  Click Image.

5. Click the Browse button. Select Thumbnail Image from under Media Use. Scroll down to the bottom and click the Save button.

6. Click Back to site to get back to the collection.

 

7. Click on the main collection that the collection that the thumbnail was just added is in up in the breadcrumbs.

 

8. Click on Edit. Scroll down to System. In the Representative Image box, click on the Add media button. Click the Save button at the bottom. This will make the thumbnail appear.

9.  Now the thumbnail is shown for the collection.

How to Batch load Collections to a Site

NOTE: The only way to add a batch of collections to your site is to use Workbench. The below steps assumes that Workbench and supporting programs already are installed if not following the directions on the Workbench Libguide page. The below steps will show a example of a CSV file for a batch of collections along with steps along with links to Workbench pages related to the each step.

1. Create your CSV file using Excel or text editor. I use Excel Spreadsheets to create my CSV file. You will need at the minimum fields: id, parent_id, file, title, field_model_field_resource_type, field_member_of, and field_weight. I added field_description and field_edft_date_created for my example.

Creating the CSV will include the field_member_of column. The value that is placed there is where the collections will be placed on the site. There is several ways that the value can be typed in.  For just a number node see where to find in the below screen shot.

If you click on the picture, it will take you to the page that I took the screen shot from. It is from Mark Jordan’s, the creator of Workbench, Workbench documentation page scroll to the bottom of the page.

 

For the id column, its a number that you create. It is only used by Workbench. For my example I just used 1 -10. For the parent_id, you leave the collections blank. Only the items within the collections get the parent_id. Use the id number for each collection to use for the parent_id for each collection. For the field_model number, the collections will be “Collections” and in my example all the items are “Images”. For the field_resource_type, the collections are again “Collections” and the items are ”Still Photos”. To find out how to find the numbers see Creating a CSV File.

2.  Next get the items that will go into each collection and put them all in one directory and copy directory to the workbench_tmp for more information on the workbench_tmp see Getting Files Ready.

3. Create a config file. For more information see Creating a Config file on the Workbench Libguide page.

4. Next run Workbench to add your collections to your site. For more information see Running Workbench.

5. After Workbench was successful in uploading your collections, go to your site to the section that collections were uploaded to. You should now appear.

How to Hide a Collection 

This is one way to hide a collection. For another option, visit the Embargoes and Access Controls Page and scroll down to the "How to Add an Embargo" box. Note: To prevent a hidden collection from being found while searching, just deselect the Published button before clicking the Save button when first creating the collection. NOTE: Hiding a collection does not hide the items in a collection you will have to hide the items separately by also deselecting the Published button on the items. Also, when adding any items to the hidden collection do the same step of deselecting the Published button before clicking the Save button when first creating the item. That will keep those items from being found when searching.

1. Logged in, navigate to the collection that needs to be hidden.

2. Click on the Collection.

3. Click the Edit button.

4. Scroll down to the page and click on System.

 

5. Scroll down the page and click on Publish just below Language to deselect it. This will hide the collection from users even when logged in.  

 

6. To check that the collection is hidden to unlogged in users, log out. Check to see if the collection is hidden. The collection is now hidden. However, when doing a search, the collection is found along with all sub items.

 

 

How to share a collection with other collections

1. Logged in, navigate to the collection that is to be shared with other collections. Click Edit.

2. Scroll down to System and click on it.

 

3. Under Member of, in the box below the box with the name of the collection in it, start to type in the other collection that you want to share the current collection with. Click the Add another Item button to add another collection if you like.  

 

4. When done scroll down to bottom and click the Save button.  

5. Now the collection will show the other collection under the Member of:. Click on the other collection link under Member of. It will take you to the other collection where you will see the collection you shared there.

Note: Deleting a collection will leave the "children" of that collection as Orphans. There will be no way to track all the items that were attached to that collection after it is deleted. The items will still exist and be viewable in the search function. For this reason you must first delete or move to another collection the items in that collection. For more information, visit the Deleting a Collection section of the Collections page of the Islandora Git Documentation.

How to Delete a Collection

1. Logged in, navigate to the collection that needs to be deleted.

2. Click on the Collection to be deleted.

3. Click the Children button if you have items within the collection. If there are no items in the collection, then click the Delete button following the Click the Delete button steps further down this page.

4. Click in the box next to Title to select all the children. Select Delete content from the Action drop-down menu in the black bar at the bottom.  Click the Apply to selected items button on the right.  

5. It will ask if you are sure you want to delete. Click the Delete button.

6. Next a Status message will appear saying the items have been deleted.

Now if a search is done on the items that were in the collection, no results are shown. If the items in the collection were not deleted but just the collection the items will still show up when doing a search.

Now the collection can be deleted following the items below.

7. Click the Delete button.

8. Click the Delete button again.

9. Now the collection has been deleted.

** Note: the media for the collection is still in the system, if you wish to delete that, see below steps.

How to Delete Collection Media

1. Deleting the items from the collection still keeps the media in Islandora. If the media also needs to be deleted from the Islandora, click the Content button under the Manage button in the upper left corner of the page.

 

2. Click Media in the menu above the + Add content button.

3. Type in the name of the media in the Media name box. To Filter the search also choose the Type from the drop-down menu. Click the Filter button on the second row of the search boxes.

 

4. Click in the boxes next to each item to select or click in the box next to Thumbnail if all the items showing are to be selected. Select Delete Media from the Action drop-down menu at the bottom of the page and click Apply to selected items.

5. Next it will ask Are you sure you want to delete these media items? It will list the names of media to be deleted. Click the Delete button. If the list of the media has a media that was selected just click the Cancel button. Repeat the step of selecting the media again.

6. Now when a search for the media that was deleted is run again, a No media available message appears!

How to Create a Collection Search

If you want to be able to search only a certain collection or collection and all sub-collection, follow the below steps to set it up.

1.  Login, hover your mouse on Configuration. Hover your mouse on Search and metadata and then select Search API.

2.  Click on Edit next to Default Solr content index.

3.  Click on Fields just below the title of the page.

4.  Click on Add fields button near the upper left of window.

5.  In the pop-up window, click the Add button next to Aggregated field (aggregated_field).

 

6.  Click in the circle next to Concatenation to select it.

7. Scroll down to the Contained Fields and select all the fields you would like to search at once. Click the Save button.

8. Click the Done button.

9. There will be a You have unsaved changes message. At the top under the General section, there will be a Aggregated field under Label. Under the Type area, change the String to Fulltext under the drop-down menu.

10. Scroll down to the bottom and click the Save changes button.

11.  A Status message will appear stating the changes were successfully saved. It also has a reindexing link. Click the link.

12.  The reindexing link will bring you to the Default Solr content index page. Scroll down to the bottom and click the Index now button in the Start indexing now box.

A Successfully index Status message appears.

13.  Next, hover your mouse on Structure and select Views.

14.  Click the Add view button.

15.  Click in the View name box at the top and type in a name for the view such as Collection Search. Under the View settings box, on the Show Content drop-down menu select the Index Default Solr content index. Check the Create a block under the Block settings box.

 

16.  Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the Save and edit button.  

 

17.  On the view that you just created page, scroll down to Fields. Click the link Search: Description (indexed field).

18.  In the pop-up window, click the Remove button at the bottom right of the window.

 

19.  Back on the View page, click the Add button next to Fields.

20.  In the pop-up window, click into the Search box and type Title. Click the box next to Title. Click the Add and configure fields button.

21.  In the next window, in the Render settings box, click the box next to Link to the Content to select it. Click the Apply button in the bottom right.

 

22.  Click the Add button next to Filter criteria.

23.  In the Search box, type Publish. Click the box next to Publishing status to select it. Do not click Add and configure filter criteria.

24.  Type Agg in the Search box. Click the box next to Aggregated field to select it. Now click Add and configure filter criteria button.

 

25.  On the next window, you will configure the Publishing Status filter criteria. Under Publishing status, click the circle next to true to select it. Click the Apply and continue button.

 

26.  Next configure the Aggregated field filter criteria. Click the box next to “Expose this filter, to allow them to change it” to select it. Change the Label Aggregated field to Search or a similar label. Click the Apply button.  

27.   Back on the Views page, on the right side under Advanced, click the Add button next to Contextual filters.

 

28.  On the pop-up window, type Member in the Search box. Check the box next to Member of field to select it. Click the Add and configure contextual filters button.

29.  In the next window, Choose Provide default value from the top box, When the filter value is NOT available. Select from the Type drop-down-menu: Content ID from URL. Click the Apply button. 

30.  Still in the Advanced section, change the Use Ajax setting to Yes. To do this under Other on the right of screen, scroll down to Use AJAX and click on the No link. In the pop-up window, check the Use AJAX checkbox and click Apply.

30.  Back on the View page, under Block settings, middle box, click on None next to Block name to give the block a name.

31.  Scroll down and click the Save button.

32.  A Status message appears stating the Collection Search has been saved.

33.  Next Hover your mouse over Configuration and hover your mouse over Search and metadata. Select Search API.

34.  Click on Edit next to Default Solr content index.

35.  Click on Fields just below the title of the page.

36.  Click on Add fields button near the upper left of window.

37.  In the pop-up window, scroll down to Content and continue down to Member of. Click the Add button. Click the Done button.

38.  Back on the fields page, scroll down to Content. You will see two Member of fields. Click Member of fields for next to the field_member_of_1. Change the name to Ancestors and change field_member_of_1 to field_ancestors. To change the name click the box for the Member of and field_member_of_1 and start typing Ancestors for Member of and field_ancestors for field_member_of_1.

38.  Scroll to the bottom and click Save Changes.

39.  Click the Processors tab.

40.  Scroll down and make sure that under Enabled, Index hierarchy is checked.

41.   Scroll down to the Process settings near the bottom. Click Index hierarchy.

42.   Click the box next to Ancestors to select it. Click Descendant of and Resource Type to deselect it.  Click the Save button.

43.  A Status message will appear, click the reindexing link.

44.  Scroll down to the bottom and click the Index now button.

45.  Successfully index Status message appears.

46.  Hover your mouse over Structure and click Views.

 

47.  Find the View that you created in Step 15.  Click the Edit button.

48.  Next click the Duplicate Block button on the right side of the screen. This will duplicate the block.

49.  On the right side of screen, under Advanced, click the Add button next to Contextual filters.

50.  Select This block (override) from the For drop-down menu in the upper left. Type Ancestors in the Search Box. Click the box next to Ancestors to select it. Click the Apply (all displays).

 

51.  Under “When the filter value is NOT available” near the top, click the circle next to Provide default value to select it. Under Type select from the drop-down menu “Content ID from URL”. Click the Apply (this display) button.

52.  Under Advanced, under Contextual filters click Content datasources: Member of.

53.  Make sure at the top left that under “For” “This block (override)” is selected. At the bottom right, click the Remove button.

54.  Back on the view page, under Block settings, change the name of Collections Search to something different that indicates it is a deep search. For example: Deep Collections Search.

55.  Scroll down to the bottom and click the Save button.

56.  Hover your mouse on Structure and select Context.

57.  Select on Edit next to Collection.

58.  Scroll down to under Reactions and click the Place block button.

59.  On the Add block pop-up window, scroll down to the Block name for example: Deep Collections Search. It should have “Lists (Views)” between block name and the Place block button. Click the Place block button.

60.  In the Add block pop-up window, under the Region drop-down menu, select Sidebar. Click the Add block button.

61.  Scroll down to the bottom and click the Save and continue button.

62.  A Status message will appear stating it has been saved. Click the Back to site in top left.

62.  Go to a collection and you should see the block.

How to share an item with another collection  

1. Logged in, and navigate to the item that you want to share. After clicking on the item, click the Edit button. 

2. Scroll down to System and click on it. In the second Member of just below the first Member of that has the name of the collection the item is in.  Type in the blank line, the name of the collection that you want to share the item with. Just start typing a few letters and list of items appears. Select the other collection. Click the Save button when done.

3. Navigate to the collection that you share the item with, and you will see it. Also navigate to the existing collection and you will also see the item.

How to move an item to another collection

1. Logged in, navigate to the item that you want to move. After clicking on the item, click the Edit button.

2. Scroll down to System and click on it. In the second Member of just below the first Member of that has the name of the collection the item is in.  Type in the blank line, the name of the collection that you want to move the item to. Just start typing a few letters and list of items appears. Select the other collection that the item is moving to. Click the Remove button next to the top Member of box with the current name of the collection. This will remove it so that the Item will just be in the new collection.   Click the Save button when done.

3. Now the item shows in the Member of the new collection only.

Top of Page

1. How to Edit Title and Add a Description to a Collection
2. How to Add an Image Banner & Thumbnail to Collection
3. How to Batch Load Collections
4. Hiding and Sharing Collections
5. How to Delete a Collection
6. How to Add a Collection Search
7. How to Share or Move an Item between Collections