Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FL-Islandora Guide

A guide for FL-Islandora users.

Accessing a Site

Public View

Most people who interact with FL-Islandora will be anonymous users.  Anonymous users are people who are not logged in to any user account, but are still allowed certain privileges (such as searching Islandora and viewing unrestricted objects). Representatives of the majority of FL-Islandora users consist of students, faculty, or the general public.  Since only staff users will log into FL-Islandora, there is no “log-in” link in the public interface.

Normally all collections are viewable in the browse display of a site and their content objects are retrievable via search.  However, a collection policy (XACML Restrictions) my be used to suppress both the collection and its members.  When on the lowest level of collection hierarchy (that is, when at the level where collections contain content objects and not other collections) public users generally will see a search view of the collection objects: 

A member of the public (anyone who isn't logged in) will see tabs along the top of objects, ie. "Summary", "Full Description":

Staff View

The user interface presented to authenticated users and to anonymous users is identical except for two things. 

  1. Additional tabs along the top of items, such as a “Manage” tab. The tabs displayed will depend on the role associated with their userid and account. Authenticated users will only see tabs for actions to which they have permission.
  2. Authenticate users display a browse view of the objects, in place of search view.

 

Searching the Site

FL-Islandora Search Features

  • Multiple search terms are joined with "AND" by default.  In order for the search to retrieve something the object's metadata must contain all the words in the search.
  • Multiple terms can be explicitly made by joining words with "OR", e.g. summer or winter.
  • To treat terms as a phrase, put them in quotes, eg. “school enrollment”.
  • If the search box is left empty, all items in the collection will be retrieved.

Search Options

1. Right below the site banner there is a search bar:

The pull-down can be used to limit the search to a particular set of collections. It defaults to the collection that you are in, so when you enter the site the default is “All Collections”, but if you drill down through the collection browse list, the default limit will change.  This pull-down may not list all collections on the site. It always offers the current collection, followed by “All Collections,” followed by the names of the immediate child collections of the current collection.

The search bar is searching metadata only, but not full text. Words entered in the search box are searched for anywhere in the metadata.  Searching full text requires advanced search.

2. Each collection home page has a search box that limits the search to the current collection. Apart from that, it works exactly the same as the search box under the site banner.

3. On the menu bar below the search bar there is an option for “Advanced Search”. This allows the user to specify which field(s) the term(s) must occur in. Advanced Search is the only way to include the full text of textual materials in a search, by selecting the default option -- “Search All (metadata + full text)” or the option “Full text,” which excludes metadata.

Advanced Search also includes an option to limit to certain collections by pull-down. Regardless of what collection the user was in when Advanced Search is selected, the options are always “All collections” and the top level child collections of the site.

Search Results

After a search is performed, 2 blocks appear on the left. The “SORT RESULTS BY” block allows the user to sort the result set by:

  • Title
  • Author
  • Date
  • ID
  • Relevancy
  • Date Created

The default sort order is Relevancy. The current sort order will be bolded on the list.  Each option acts as a toggle between ascending and descending (ie. clicking "Date" once gets you newest first, then you can click it again to get reverse order with oldest first).

For alphabetic sorts like Title and Author, sort order is: special characters (e.g. quotes and dollar signs), numbers, and alphabetic characters. Initial articles are not ignored.

“Date” is the approximate publication date of the object (the date of the original in case of a digital surrogate). “Date Created” is the date the object was created in Islandora, which is mostly useful for staff.

ID is the Fedora PID. This files character by character, not numerically, so “islandora:1012” will file before “islandora:22”.

The “NARROW RESULTS BY” block displays facets for limiting search results. A limit can be added by clicking the facet name or the “+” or "-" to the right of the name. The facet name will appear just above the search results as a term displayed next to the words "Current Search". The limit can be removed by clicking the “x” following the facet name in the Current Search.