FL-Islandora Guide: Glossary

• Breadcrumbs / Breadcrumb Trail:  Website navigation tool consisting of a series of clickable horizontal links that display a page searching/viewing history.

 

• Citation CModel: A Scholar Solution Pack Content Model. Default "Citation" MODS form. Links to PersonCM objects via "Qualifying Name" form element (Scholar MADS "Identifier" form element).

 

• Citation Content Model: An Islandora Content Model intended for general scholarly works

 

• Collection / Collection Object: Collections are a way of grouping related objects together in Fedora. They function much like directories on a computer; a collection can “contain” any number of related objects and sub-collections. Everything stored in Fedora is an object, including collections.

 

• Content Model: Content models describe the characteristics of objects in the Fedora repository.

 

• Datastream: Datastreams are elements of objects that represent content. They may contain metadata about the object. Each object has a number of default datastreams, notably a Dublin Core Datastream and a RELS-EXT (Fedora Object-to-Object Relationship Data Datastream. Datastreams can also contain other useful information, and different types of objects will have different datasteams; for example, a collection object has a collection policy Datastream, while an image might contain a thumbnail Datastream.
   
• Datastream Embargoes: A Scholar Embargo function that allows objects to display normally to public users, but a particular datastream will be unavailable to public users to view or download

 

• DOI (Digital Object Identifier): This is a "digital identifier of an object" that provides persistent unique identification of objects. DOIs can be used to create objects in Islandora Scholar.
   
• Embargo Manager: An Islandora user role set up by FLVC to only allow setting/updating/lifting embargoes on objects.

 

• Entity CModel: An Entities Solution Pack Content Model. This is a "generic" or "background" CModel that's assigned to all other Entities SP CModels. No objects should be created using the Entity CModel alone. No default metadata form associated with this CModel.

 

• Entities Solution Pack: An Islandora module that allows you to add person, place, event, and organization entities to an Islandora repository.

 

• Event CModel: An Entities Solution Pack Content Model. Default "Event EAC-CPF" and "Event EAC-CPF Read Only" metadata forms.

• Fedora Commons (Repository Software): Fedora (Flexible Extensible Digital Object Repository Architecture) is an open source architecture for storing, managing, and accessing digital content in the form of digital objects.

 

• FL-Islandora: FL-Islandora is Florida Library Services' implementation of Islandora software. It is somewhat different from the “basic” Islandora open source software as Florida Library Services has customized the software to some extent to meet our users’ needs. At the same time, FL-Islandora code still utilizes the main Islandora software code base.

 

• Footer: The footer is fixed to the bottom of the site and contains a uniform generic statement with links to both Florida Library Services and the partner institution. Content editable by request.
   
• Google Scholar: A search engine for scholarly literature

 

• Header: The header is fixed to the top of a site and containers a banner image of an institutions choosing. The banner links to the site homepage.

 

• Highlighted: The highlighted region is designated for the display of optional content, typically on the landing page. FL-Islandora sites come with two blocks of content in this region by default, introductory site text and a “featured” object + link. These sections are customizable by request but institution staff must provide the content themselves. This region may also contain a slideshow by request. Institutions must provide initial slides and define the size and actions of the element. After initial setup, institutions will be responsible for maintaining slideshow content. Florida Library Services will maintain slideshow functionality.
   
• Indefinite Embargoes: A Scholar embargo that persists until manually lifted by an Embargo Manager.
   
• IP Embargo: A module originally developed for FLVC to allow embargo of objects to selected IP ranges. Users from other IP ranges see a "Limited Access" overlay and can be redirected to a page explaining the embargo.
   
• Islandora Bookmark: A module that allows users to build, manage, share, and export lists of Islandora objects.
   
• Islandora IR functionality: A generic phrase intended as a catch-all for any current or planned Islandora or FL-Islandora functionality that supports Institutional Repository functions. This functionality will include Islandora Scholar and Entities Solution Packs, as well as additional FLVC development.
   
• IslandScholar: UPEI's Institutional Repository based on Islandora v6 and added UPEI development. This is not the same as Islandora Scholar!
   
• Islandora Scholar: A Islandora Scholar is a suite of modules designed to help Islandora function as an Institutional Repository (although some features are helpful in other use cases as well).This is not the same as IslandScholar, UPEI's IR.

 

• Item Identifier (IID): In the FL-Islandora implementation, exactly one identifier with type item identifier “IID” is required in the MODS metadata of each content object. The value of the IID identifier must be unique in the system. The inclusion of additional identifiers in the MODS record are allowed, but they must be of a different type value than IID. The IID is intended to be an identifier meaningful to the institution outside of the Islandora system. Note that FL-Islandora will create a PURL (Persistent URL) from the IID. Valid IID characters are limited to alphanumeric, underscore, hyphen, period, and parentheses.

 

• Main Content: The main content region contains the primary display of Islandora objects. This regional will display collections, search results, special object views including newspaper and serial trees, and object-level display. It will also typically display the forms used to edit and configure Islandora objects. The main content region also contains the advanced search page and any additional “page” content created (by request).

 

• Menu Bar: The Menu Bar contains two menus, main and user, by default.

 

• Main Menu: Contains links to the Home page, Advanced Search page, and a canned search of all repository items. Additional links can be added on request.

 

• MODS (Metadata Object Description Schema): Metadata Object Description Schema (MODS) is a schema for a bibliographic element set that may be used for a variety of purposes, and particularly for library applications. The Library of Congress' Network Development and MARC Standards Office, with interested experts, developed the Metadata Object Description Schema (MODS) in 2002 for a bibliographic element set that may be used for a variety of purposes, and particularly for library applications. As an XML schema it is intended to be able to carry selected data from existing MARC 21 records as well as to enable the creation of original resource description records. It includes a subset of MARC fields and uses language-based tags rather than numeric ones, in some cases regrouping elements from the MARC 21 bibliographic format.

 

• Namespace: The namespace is a component of the persistent identifier (namespace:ID). The namespace is defined in the collection policy, and will then be used to generate PIDs for the objects ingested into that collection. Note: It is FL-Islandora policy that all namespaces within an FL-Islandora site be consistent. To determine the namespaces that should be used in your site, click on your site's "Home" button/options and you will see a URL that ends with [code]%3Aroot, that is [code:root], e.g., fsu:root on the FSU production site. That "code:" is the namespace that you should use for all objects on your site.

 

• OBJ Datastream: This is the original file loaded into Islandora to create a content object. A variety of derivative datastreams may be created from the original file, depending on the object’s Content Model, and stored with the Islandora object.
   
• Object Embargoes: A Scholar Embargo function that behaves as if the object doesn't exist for public users.
   
• ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor IDentifier: A 16 digit identifier used to uniquely identify individual researchers. The ISNI-AI (ISN International Agency) has reserved a block of identifiers for use by ORCID, and ORCID identifiers utilize a format that’s compliant with the ISNI (International Standard Name Identifier) ISO standard (ISO 27729).
   
• Organization CModel: An Entities Solution Pack Content Model. Default "Department MADS" form, "Organization EAC-CPF" and "Organization EAC-CPF Read Only" metadata forms.

• Persistent Identifier (PID): Every object in a Fedora repository has a unique persistent identifier of the format namespace:ID. This identifier is assigned when the object is created, and cannot be changed.

 

• Persistent Uniform Resource Locator (PURL): a web address that acts as a permanent identifier for an object. In FL-Islandora PURLs are created at the time of loading and are stored in the MODS descriptive metadata and displayed to the public with the label “Persistent Link to This Record”. FL-Islandora PURLs are stored on FLVC’s PURL server. A content object can be deleted and reloaded, and while deletion and reloading changes the object’s PID, the object’s PURL should not change.
   
• Person CModel: An Entities Solution Pack Content Model. Default "Person EAC-CPF", "Person EAC-CPF Read Only" and "Scholar MADS" metadata forms. Scholar MADS "Identifier" form element links to Citation and Thesis CModel objects containing matching "Qualified Name" form elements. Scholar MADS "Department" form element autocompletes from Organization CModel's "Department MADS" "Department" form element.
   
• Place CModel: An Entities Solution Pack Content Model. Default "Place EAC-CPF" and "Place EAC-CPF Read Only" metadata forms.
   
• PMID (PubMed ID): A unique identifier assigned to each article record when it enters the PubMed system. PMIDs can be used to create objects in Islandora Scholar.

 

• RELS-EXT datastream: The RELS-EXT, or external relationships datastream, stores information about an Islandora object (its PID and Content Model) and its relationships to other Islandora objects, notably the collection(s) and object belongs to.
   
• Scholar Embargo: Similar to and can be used in conjunction with the IP embargo module. Allow suppression of entire objects (object embargo) or selected datastreams (datastream embargoes).
   
• Scholar Importers: Scholar provides options for importing objects from various sources (RefWorks, EndNote or Zotero). Objects can also be created based on DOI and PMID.
   

• Search Bar: The search bar contains the simple search box.

 

• Secondary Content: The secondary content regions sits above the main content and displays information related to collection objects. By default, this region will appear empty when viewing the contents of a single collection with the exception of the collection title and a collection search box.
   
• Sherpa/RoMEO: A feature in Scholar is Sherpa/RoMEO integration, based on an object's ISSN which returns host publishers' copyright/self-archiving policy from the Sherpa/RoMEO database and displays it in the Islandora object.

 

• Sidebar: This region will display content to the immediate right or left of main content. When viewing search results the left sidebar contains options for controlling search results through Sort and Facets. The Sort and Facet blocks display by default with Sort appearing above Facet. When viewing a compound object, an object’s siblings will be displayed in the right sidebar.

 

• Site(s): Each college or university that uses FL-Islandora has its own FL-Islandora “site” or website (similar to a Drupal “site). Each site has its own branding and theming, its own set of collections and users/logins. Their materials appear separately in that site. At the same time, all sites share one Fedora Commons repository and one instance of FL-Islandora software. By using unique Islandora “namespaces” or prefixes FL-Islandora is able to display objects in separate institutional FL-Islandora sites.
   
• Stub Records (FSU term): Metadata-only Islandora objects with no attached content datastream.
   
• Temporary Embargoes: A Scholar embargo that persists until the specified expiration date chosen by an Embargo Manager.
   
• Thesis CModel: A Scholar Solution Pack Content Model. Default "Thesis" MODS form. Links to PersonCM objects via "Qualifying Name" form element (Scholar MADS "Identifier" form element).
   
• Thesis Content Model: An Islandora Content Model intended for handling electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs)

 

• User menu: Invisible to anonymous users. The options vary upon a user’s Role. The higher tiered role will see a link to a page detailing their account information (My Account), Log Off, Embargoed object configuration, Binary Object configuration, and OAI harvesting configuration. Additional links can be added on request (assuming they are permissibly accessible).

 

• XACML Policies / Object Policies: "XACML Policies" are a Fedora standard for implementing access control policies (in Islandora terms Object Policies) that can limit viewing and management of Islandora objects to logged-in users assigned to specific Islandora user roles. They are written in eXtensible Access Control Markup Language. XACML or Object Policies are implemented via the "Object Policy" tab in a collection or content object.