Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FL-Islandora Guide

A guide for FL-Islandora users.

FL-Islandora Account Basics

Before a user can begin working with a site, the user account must be set up by either a site user with the FL-Islandora site administrator role or by FLVC Library Services staff.  During the initial set-up of the FL-Islandora site, the Institutional Contact should have been added to the site as a site administrator.  If you do not have a site administrator, or do not know who your site administrator is, please contact the help desk at help@flvc.org.

Each site has its own user table (database of user accounts). Site administrators can add, modify and cancel user accounts. User roles, however, are the same system-wide; e.g. the role fsu_submitter has the same permissions as the role fau_submitter.  Please note that FL-Islandora users require only a single role assigned to their account. Authenticated users have to sign in to the system with the username and password associated with their FL-Islandora account. User roles are hierarchically ranked such that each role inherits all of the permissions granted to the roles beneath it. Please see the chart below.  

Roles

Every staff member is assigned a “role” when his or her user account is created. These roles will determine the extent of a user's access to Islandora objects and features. At present there are five roles available to staff.

Site Administrator

A site administrator account must be requested and created by FLVC Library Services staff.

Users with the site administrator role have all the privileges of the collection manager role. In addition, they can manage users of the site - they can create new users, assign user roles, and disable users. They can set up IP ranges for use in embargoes. If configured, they may also be able to add or edit non-Islandora repository site content such as slides or page text.  Due to the level of power, it is expected that only one or two individuals will have site administrator privileges for any institutional site. The site administrator role cannot be given to users by site administrators. 

Collection Manager

Users with the collection manager role have all the privileges of the supervisor role. In addition, they can create and delete collections, manage collection policies (i.e. define which content models can be used within a collection), migrate objects from one collection to another, and share objects between collections.

Supervisor

Users with the supervisor role have all the privileges of the editor role. In addition, they can delete objects, which permanently removes those objects from the repository. They cannot create or edit collections but can delete collections.

Editor

Users with the editor role can create new objects with metadata and can edit the metadata of any object on the site regardless of the owning user. Editors can view and change object “properties” (the object label, owner, and state) and can set or delete an embargo. They cannot create or edit collections.

Submitter

Users with the submitter role can create new objects with metadata and can edit the metadata of objects for which they are the owning user, but they cannot edit the metadata of objects owned by others. They cannot delete objects or create collections. This role is appropriate for those new to the system or student workers who may need their submissions checked before the submissions are moved to a publicly accessible collection.

 

Basic Account Management

How to Log-In

As non-staff library patrons (“Anonymous/public users”) will currently not have user accounts and cannot log in, no “log in” link appears on institutional websites.

To log in as an account holder, the staff member must enter the URL directly by adding "/user" to their site address (e.g. https://uwf.digital.flvc.org/user)Please ensure that you are using URLs formatted with https instead of http.

[site address]/user 

https://[institution-code].digital.flvc.org/user

You will be presented with a form for entering your username and password.

Logged in users will see a User Menu, which contains a link to “Log out”.

Edit User Account Information

Log-in to FL-Islandora.

On the view screen, click the "Edit " tab.

Account holders can then edit their own account information. They can change their passwords and email addresses, upload a photo and set the time zone.

Please note that account holders can not change their user name or the role associated with the account. If a different username is needed, it is recommended a new account be set up and the old one removed before the user interacts with any objects in production.

Password Reset

All active account holders should be able to reset their own password from the log-in (/user) page. On the login page, select the 'Request new password' tab and enter either your username or email address on the following page. Upon submission, you will receive an email with a temporary login link that will take you to a page where you can log in and enter a new password.

PLEASE NOTE: There is no way to retrieve a lost or forgotten password. Due to security reasons, you must reset your password. If you are having trouble resetting your password please contact the associated site administrator or FLVC Library Services.

Site Administrator Account Management

Every Islandora site will have one or two individuals with the role “Site Administrator”. The Site Administrator has all the permissions of the Collection Manager role, plus the ability to add new users, change user accounts, and set up IP embargo parameters.  After FLVC Library Services performs initial site setup, it is the responsibility of the local Site Administrator to maintain users on your FL-Islandora site. Please be sure to remove any users who are no longer employed by your institution.  Site administrators are the only users who see a black administrative menu bar at the very top of the screen:

Only users with the site administrator role can complete the following account management.

Create a New User

1) From the Admin menu bar, click "People"

2) In the pop-up box, click "+ Add user". The new user form will appear.

3) Fill out the new user form:

  • Username should be entered in the form “FirstName LastName”. For example, “John Doe”.
  • Email addresses must be unique. Multiple users can not share the same email address.
  • Each site can set up conventions for initial passwords and whether or not to send an email confirmation to the new user.
  • At the bottom of the form, there is a checklist of roles that can be assigned to the new user. Check the role(s) the new user should have.

Edit User Accounts

1) From the Admin menu bar, click "People". A list of users will appear by default.

2) Click the "edit" link to the far right of the username.

3) The edit user form includes all the information on the add user form, as well as options to upload a picture of the user, and to set the user’s time zone. Make changes and save.

Block, Unblock and Cancel User Accounts

Site administrators can block, unblock and cancel user accounts individually or in groups.  A blocked account exists but the user can not log onto the system An attempt to log on with a blocked account result in the message:

The username [name] has not been activated or is blocked.

Blocking allows accounts to be pre-established before activation. For example, accounts can be set up for a group of people registered for a training session, and only activated after completion of training.

To block an account

1) On the administrative menu bar, click "People". The list view will appear.

2) Check the user(s) whose accounts should be blocked. Under the heading for Update Options, select “Block the selected users” from the pull-down menu. Click "Update". (An individual account can also be blocked from that account’s edit view.)

To unblock an account

1) On the administrative menu bar, click "People". The list view will appear.

2) Check the user(s) whose accounts should be unblocked. Under Update Options, select “Unblock the selected users” from the pull-down menu. Click "Update". (An individual account can also be unblocked from that account’s edit view.)

To cancel an account

There are four options for canceling an account:

  • Disable the account and keep its content.
  • Disable the account and unpublish its content.

The two above options retain the account in the List view with blocked status. The account can be reactivated by unblocking. The content referred to is Drupal pages and other Drupal nodes and does not apply to most Islandora operators.

  • Delete the account and make its content belong to the Anonymous user.
  • Delete the account and its content.

The two above options will delete the account from the system. The content referred to is Drupal pages and other Drupal nodes and does not apply to most Islandora operators.

1) From the administration menu bar, click "People".

2) From the List view, check the boxes next to the account(s) to be canceled. Under Update Options, select “Cancel the selected user accounts” from the pull-down menu. Click "Update".

3) On the “Are you sure you want to cancel accounts?” screen, select an option to disable or delete the account(s). Click “Cancel accounts”. (To leave the screen without canceling accounts, click “cancel”.)