FL-Islandora Guide: Site Set-Up

FL-Islandora sites are available free of charge (one per institution) to public universities and community colleges in Florida.  If you would like a FL-Islandora site for your institution, contact help@flvc.org to request more information. 

Information you will need to provide:

• Requesting Institution
• Institutional Contact
• Site Administrator, if not Institutional Contact
• Site Title
• Preferred Institution Code (3-4 alpha characters)
• Document that details specifications on your institution's web standards for color and font usage
• Any Graphic files to be incorporated into site branding
• IP range for the institution

To begin, review the Islandora documentation on Getting Started.

Every FL-Islandora site comes installed with a default template designed for the FL-Islandora implementation. General layout and structural components can be identified in the similarities across FL-Islandora production sites. At present, a majority of site design outside of the Islandora repository (collections, etc.) is done on initial setup by FLVC Library Services staff as this configuration cannot be accessed by library staff users.  The color, font, and branding information that you provide in your initial request along with input and feedback from library staff, will be applied to define a “look and feel” within the limitations of both the template and Islandora functionality.  While branding and graphic standards will attempt to be met within the FL-Islandora framework - theme requirements prescribed by the institution that fall outside the default framework are considered outside the scope of FL-Islandora services and will need to be discussed with FLVC Library Services staff for consideration.

Layout Default Template

Homepage

What's the size requirement and file type for headers?

 1000px x 100px  give or take a few pixels and jpg is what we use but,  png will also work.

 

Collection Page

Additional content in this region is generated dynamically by user-submitted collection datastreams and is NOT configured by FLVC Library Services. The layout of datastream generated elements within the region is fixed.  For information on creating collection displays please see the collection documentation and Collection Information Menu.

Content Object Page

 

What's the size requirement and file type for the object branding logo?

250px x 100px and jpg/png is our recommended size and file types for logos.

 

 

Search Page

 

Theme Modifications

• Theme elements such as all colors, sizes, display type and visibility, box-models, states, alignments, fonts, and other properties are provided by Cascading Style Sheets and may be modified on request. These properties can be defined by providing descriptive feedback to FLVC Library Services staff OR by providing CSS markup directly. Please note that CSS3 functionality and vendor-prefixed properties (moz, webkit, etc.) may not be supported by all user browsers.  When communicating with FLVC Library Services staff about the design of your FL-Islandora website please use the Layout Default Template terminology and images as a reference.

• Modification of text as found in menus, footer, links, and other labels may be done on request.

• Basic pages may be added by request but content must be provided and maintained by library staff. Files and images not ingested into the Islandora repository must be hosted elsewhere.

• Movement or removal of structural elements or content within the regions defined within the templates is less common but may be done on request. If the change results in the disruption of Islandora functionality FLVC Library Services may not be able to comply with or maintain the change.

• Some elements found at the Islandora Object level (such as IA bookreader) are not part of the FL-Islandora Theme and are not customized. In the event of changes to CSS/design within the originating Islandora module, any changes will not be maintained during an upgrade. As a result, it's not recommended that you request changes to these elements.

Creating a Slideshow

To build a slideshow for your FL-Islandora site, you must first put in a request to FLVC Library Services staff at help@flvc.org. They will enable and configure this feature for you.  Currently, the slideshow is fitted into the “Highlighted” region of your FL-Islandora site. NOTE:  This replaces the “About Us” text and the “Featured Collection” image. Alternatively, you may create a separate “About Us” page for your site. 

After the feature is enabled on your site, these instructions provide guidance for adding an image carousel or slideshow at the top of an FL-Islandora homepage. You can see examples of this feature on the PALMM Islandora page at http://palmm.digital.flvc.org and along the top of the FAU Islandora page at http://fau.digital.flvc.org/.

Creating Slides

The flexslider feature does not automatically create the slide images. Each institution is responsible for creating the content of their slideshow.

There are no standard dimensions set for the slideshow, however, it is highly recommended that you make all of your slides the same size. Otherwise, each slide will stretch proportionately to the width of your largest slide. This could create vertical white space on your slides that did not stretch. The maximum and default width of your slides is approximately 1100 px, equal to the width of the main column of the body of the homepage. Images with widths larger than this will shrink proportionately to fit. Optionally, slides of smaller width can stretch to fit this width exactly. See the slideshow at https://fau.digital.flvc.org/fauir for an example of an exact fit. Please let FLVC Library Services know if you would prefer your slideshow to be smaller than the width of the main column.

Adding Slides

NOTE: To add slides to a slideshow you must be logged in as a site administrator. Each institution should have 1-2 staff members with this role.

Once you are logged in (and the flexslider configuration is completed by FLVC Library Services), you will see options for "Content", "Add content" and "Find content" on the administrative toolbar located at the top of your site.

Select "Add content" directly or select "Content" followed by "+Add Content" from the following page, which will display a page titled "Create Slideshow Image". To comply with ADA, be sure to add an "Alternate text" value for slides. This will be used to add an alt tag to the image and will make the site easier to navigate by all users.

NOTE:  The order that you upload the slides will be the order the slides are presented in the slideshow.

Enter a title (the title is just an identifier and will not appear to the public), upload your slide image, and enter the URL you would like users to visit upon clicking the slide.  If the URL is local to your islandora site, such as a collection or single object, you do not need to enter the full url and instead you may enter "/islandora/object/[your-islandora-namespace]:[pid-of-the-object]."

To minimize the appearance that the site is under construction and impact users, FLVC Library Services will usually wait until you have added at least one slide before replacing your current highlighted content with the slideshow. Contact FLVC Library Services after you have added your first slide(s) or if you do not see your slides.

Editing & Removing Slides

Select the "Content" or "find content" link from the administrative toolbar. You will see a list of all drupal content objects on your Islandora site. You may not be able to edit every type listed. Use the filter option to show only content with the type “Slideshow Image”. You will be presented with a list of your slides. Use the options under the Operations column to either edit or delete your slides. If you’d like to replace the slide image, select the edit option and use the Remove button to delete the image and upload a replacement.

Here's the login url: https://ir-test.digital.flvc.org/user

The repository functionality is also set up on test sites for the following institutions: FAU, UCF, FGCU, and FSU.

The namespace on the ir-test site is "ir". So, all your Collection PIDs should start with "ir:". If you click "Ingest" to make a Collection, and don't see a collection, try again with the "ir:" namespace PID.

The following people have accounts on the ir-test site: Parker Fruehan, Devin Soper, Roxann Mouratidis, Jane Strudwick, Melissa VandeBurgt, Joanne Parandjuk, Lee Dotson, Bryan Brown, Favenzio Calvo, Chealsye Bowley. If anyone else needs a login, all of you are site admins, so you can make them a login. Feel free to add anyone else who needs an account.

• Step 1: FLVC sets your test site up with FLIIRT software, and sets up the top level department (Organization Entity).
• Step 2: Build out a department tree on your test site.
• Step 3: Provide FLVC with a spreadsheet of faculty information for batch loading to your test site. FLVC will load this. Then you do quality control and email FLVC with any revisions (faculty can't be moved over from test to production, so when you email the revisions, FLVC will edit the load file so it can be ready to go for loading on production later).
• Step 4: Work with linking publications to scholars on your test site. This will get you familiar with how the linking works.
• Step 5: Work with FLVC to develop an institutional repository splash page similar to UPEI's http://www.islandscholar.ca or FAU's https://fau.digital.flvc.org/fauir . (This step is optional or can be done at a later date. An example of a splash page can be seen on FAU's Islandora site at https://fau.digital.flvc.org/. If you do not have a splash page like that, then look along the menu towards the top of the FLIIRT test site at https://ir-test.digital.flvc.org and look for the link to "Repository". If you do not have a splash page, then the way someone would get to the instiutional repository materials would be to click the "Repository" link and view that splash page.)
• Step 6: Begin to prepare metadata on your production site. You can begin to add the MODS <nameIdentifier> field to publications. Keep general notes on what collections you have touched up. Later, after you create the faculty on your production site, you will have metadata in place and then will request reindexing of the publications. Reindexing will get the faculty members (Person Entities) into the Solr indexing for each object and the software will link them up. The reason you might want the metadata in place early is that if metadata is already in place then you can do a fast launch and get all the links up in a day or two once reindexing is complete.
• Step 7: FLVC sets your production site up with FLIIRT software, and sets up the top level department (Organization Entity).
• Step 8: Manually copy over each department (Organization Entity) from test to production. When you do this, start out with the higher up parent/grandparent departments first, then work down to children then grandchildren. The reason for working in this order is that Solr indexing will look to the parent department in the MADS form, so you want that parent department to exist when you save the MADS record.
• Step 9: After departments are fully moved over, request FLVC to batch load faculty to your production site. (You finalize departments (Organization Entities) first, because then as the faculty (Person Entities) are created, the Person Entities's solr will index the departments.) For this step, do quality control. Use the .csv import files, sort in Excel to get a count of faculty in each department, then click to the department in Islandora and ensure that the number of faculty showing up in each department is the same in Islandora as in the .csv load. Ultimately, what you are checking for is that all the letters and characters are perfect that are used for linking the faculty to departments.
• Step 10: Request reindexing of publications on your production site. This will get the Solr of the publications to link up to the faculty and departments.
• Step 11: Request FLVC to move over to production any splash pages that you worked with FLVC to create on test.
• Step 12: Think about opening to the public. You can preload faculty, departments, publications, and splash pages and have those viewable only to a logged in user. If you do this, then when you wish to launch, work with FLVC to make the site public using the following checklist: make the splash pages public; optionally make the /repopitory/ page public; ensure all Organization Entities are public and indexed correctly in solr; ensure the Scholar Entities are public and indexed correctly in solr; ensure that any publications have the appropriate access restrictions and are indexed correctly in solr. It is appropriate to set aside time the week of the launch for you to browse the site while logged out and ensure that access restrictions are as desired. FLVC will typically not adjust access permissions on content, such as PDFs, so your time in quality control ensures that any content which should have been opened has been opened.