The sections below provide a reference for the types of content that can be ingested into Islandora and the presentation of the content ingested into Islandora, as provided by Islandora Solution Packs. To ingest files into an Islandora collection the content type, Content Model(s), must be defined in the collection policy.
When selecting a Content Model to use for ingesting a file there are a number of things to consider:
Some types of files may be ingested into more than one Content Model, while others may not be accepted by any Content Model. The access file (the file as presented to the end user) may be a derivative and not the original file ingested into FL-Islandora.
Use this comparison to help choose between the PDF content model and Book content model.
Use this comparison to help choose which content type to use: Newspaper content model or Serial content model
In order to upload a PDF Object content model, you need to enable the collection to hold:
The PDF content model is used for single PDF files. It accepts files of the following file types as input:
PDF (.pdf) required
TEXT (.txt) optional
At this time, there are no PDF viewers installed in FL-Islandora. Viewing a PDF object in-browser is dependent on what browser (and browser plugins) you are using to access the page. There is no single recommended browser. Any popular, modern, up-to-date browser should be sufficient to view FL-Islandora PDF objects in-browser along with the remainder of a site. However, some users may not be able to see the PDF in their browser window or will have varying functionality to interact with the PDF depending on their browser's built-in PDF viewer.
Examples:
The following datastreams will be created:
| RELS-EXT | Default Fedora relationship metadata |
| MODS | MODS record |
| DC | Dublin Core record |
| TN | Thumbnail image, created from the first page of the PDF at time of ingest |
| OBJ | The source PDF |
| FULL_TEXT | Full text of the PDF, either provided as a source file or derived from the PDF at the time of ingest |
| PREVIEW |
A JPEG image derived from the PDF, used for the initial view of the PDF. |
Offline batch ingest is available for the PDF content model.
In order to upload the Audio content model, you need to enable the collection to hold:
The Audio Content Model is used for single audio files.
The Audio content model accepts these file types:
WAVE (.wav)
MP3 (.mp3)
This module plays audio in the browser using JWPlayer. The thumbnail shows up in the background of the player window in the browser, in addition to its normal locations. In the picture below, the default image of a microphone is shown as the thumbnail. Optionally, the operator may upload a thumbnail image during the initial upload (or you can add a different thumbnail anytime later) to replace the default image.
Selecting Full Screen View will render the file in a user's browser default.
Example:
Ingested islandora:sp-audioCModel objects create the following datastreams:
| RELS-EXT | Default Fedora relationship metadata |
| MODS | MODS record, created at time of ingest |
| DC | Dublin Core record, derived from MODS |
| OBJ | The original WAVE or MP3 file uploaded. |
| TN | The uploaded thumbnail image, or a default thumbnail icon. |
| PROXY_MP3 | An MP3 file for playback derived from the original WAVE or MP3 file uploaded. |
To make the Audio content model, you have to have a .wav or .mp3 file. If your audio files are in a different format, consider uploading as a Compound Object with two parts, the original file as a Binary Object and a .mp3 derivative as an Audio file. Keeping the original in Islandora helps keep it easy to find over time. You can use the open-source software, like Audacity, to create a .mp3 file from almost any other source format.
The default thumbnail will look like this:
To add a different thumbnail image (for example, an album cover):
To add a different thumbnail image (for example, an album cover) via batch loading:
Offline Batch Ingest is not available for Audio objects
In order to upload the Basic Image content model, you need to enable the collection to hold:
Basic Image is meant primarily for JPEG images, but can be used for some other image formats.
The Basic Image content model accepts a single file of the following file types:
JPEG (.jpg, .jpeg) PNG (.png) GIF (.gif) TIFF (.tif, .tiff) NOTE: .tif and .tiff can only be loaded to Basic Image by GUI; They cannot be loaded to Basic Image by zip or offline batch ingest
The picture shows up in the browser. There's no way to zoom in or out. If you click on the picture, you go right to the file and can save it to your desktop.
Examples:
If a JPEG, PNG or GIF is supplied, islandora:sp_basic_image will create the following datastreams:
| RELS-EXT | Default Fedora relationship metadata |
| MODS | MODS record, created at time of ingest |
| DC | Dublin Core record |
| OBJ | The original image file uploaded |
| TN | Thumbnail image, created at time of ingest |
| MEDIUM_SIZE | A compressed version of the image, used on the object's View page |
If a TIFF is supplied, islandora:sp_basic_image will create these datastreams (Large Image Module is the recommended module for TIFF files):
| RELS-EXT | Default Fedora relationship metadata |
| MODS | MODS record, created at time of ingest |
| DC | Dublin Core record |
| OBJ | A full-size JPEG created from the source TIFF image |
| ARCHIVE | The source TIFF image |
| TN | Thumbnail image, created at time of ingest |
| MEDIUM_SIZE | A compressed version of the image, used on the object's View page |
To make the Basic Image content model, you have to have a .jpg, .jpeg, .png, or .gif file to start with.
Offline batch ingest is available for the Basic Image content model.
The Binary Object Content Model is designed to enable users to load and display “download only” files of any type. The Binary Object Content Model does not render the content file object itself but enables users to view the object’s metadata and download the object. This Content Model is ideal for sharing 3D files (e.g., STL, OBJ, AMF, 3MF) that can be downloaded and printed or used by a variety of applications, or for any file format where the objective is to provide a file for download by users. Binary objects can be components of a Compound Object as well, perhaps combining a rendered version of an object as well as a downloadable version.
In order to upload the Binary content model, you need to enable the collection to hold:
Any Kind of File
The Binary Object content model is used to ingest a single content object of a file type not supported by the other Islandora content models, or any file in which the desired presentation is a link for download. Since Islandora is not instructed in a method to render the ingested file (datastream), it will provide only a link for the user to download the file. Binary Object is appropriate for common office formats such as spreadsheets, 3D files, slides, and word processing documents, among other things. The Binary Object content model accepts a single file of any type as the primary datastream, and optionally allows the user to upload a thumbnail image to use for the file. If no thumbnail is uploaded, a default thumbnail is provided. Each site can associate default thumbnail icons to be used for particular file Multipurpose Internet Mail Extensions (MIME) types (ie. you can set up Islandora to always load an Excel icon as the thumbnail for .xls files). Determining the correct MIME type for a specific file can be challenging, because several MIME types may apply to files with the same extension. The following tips may help:
NOTE: This content model will accept any file type as long as the individual file is under 2GB, which is the current (Sept 2018) size limitation on any individual content files in FL-Islandora.
OR
NOTE: there is no “Summary” tab to view the object (in this case, a PowerPoint file) and that the display includes the following text and a link to download the object: “This is a downloadable object of filetype ppt and size 536 KB. -> Download”
The following datastreams will be created for the islandora:binaryObjectCModel:
| RELS-EXT | Default Fedora relationship metadata |
| OBJ | The uploaded primary datastream. |
| MODS | MODS record |
| DC | Dublin Core record derived from the MODS record. |
| TN | Thumbnail image, uploaded with the Binary Object or provided as a default by the system. |
To make the Binary Object content model, you can start with any file at all. This is the only way to hold files like Excel files, Powerpoint files, or datasets. A common way to use the Binary Object content model might be as part of a Compound Object. For example, a Compound Object might have two child objects, one being a PDF of a paper and the other being a Binary Object of a dataset.
Zip loading is not available for the binary object content model.
Offline Batch Ingest is not available for Binary Object content model objects.
Before configuring default thumbnails you must create thumbnail files/images. The requirements for these files are:
They must be .jpg or .png files
Size does not matter, they will always render the default size for Islandora
Use a naming convention that will make it easy for you to identify the file. We recommend TN for thumbnail: TN_[file format], for example: TN_audio.jpg.
1. Log in as a user associated with the Islandora Site Administrator role.
2. Click on the “Binary Object” link in the toolbar:
You’ll be presented with a screen that enables you to begin uploading thumbnails and then associating them with MIME types.
Click on the “Upload” link to upload your first thumbnail, browse for your file, then click “Submit” to save it. (Note that the uploaded file won’t be saved until you click “Submit”.) You can continue to upload thumbnails at this point, or you can associate uploaded thumbnails with MIME types.
NOTE:
In order to upload the Book content model, you need to enable the collection to hold:
Books can be created in FL-Islandora through the User Interface, or they can be loaded using Offline Batch Ingest.
No files. Just metadata.
The Book content model does not allow any file upload, only metadata creation. You make the book, then you later make pages and each page holds a file.
Examples (of the Book):
When a book is created online through the interactive online interface, the following datastreams are created at the Book level:
| RELS-EXT | Default Fedora relationship metadata |
| MODS | MODS record |
| DC | Dublin Core record |
| TN | Thumbnail image, created from the first page at time of ingest |
The Page Content Model is used for each page of a book. If the page is ingested online, it accepts the following files as input:
TIFF (.tiff, .tif)
JPEG (.jpeg, .jpg)
JPEG2000 (.jp2)
In FL-Islandora page objects are primarily displayed as jpegs within the Internet Archive Bookreader. The jpegs that a person sees when flipping pages are created by the Islandora software for use as display images. (Original uploaded image files are stored in Islandora, and you can get to the original images by clicking to the page object and viewing Datastreams.)
Page objects viewed alone will display using the OpenSeadragon viewer. This is the same viewer used to display the Large Image Content Model.
Examples (of the pages):
If the pages are ingested through the GUI, the following datastreams are created for each page:
| RELS-EXT | Default Fedora relationship metadata |
| MODS | A minimal MODS record created by program |
| DC | Dublin Core record derived from the MODS |
| OBJ | The uploaded TIFF file |
| JP2 | A derivative JPEG2000 image created from the TIFF |
| JPG | A smaller JPEG derivative |
| TN | A thumbnail image of the page created from the JP2 |
| A derivative PDF version of the page, stored for future use in printing | |
| RELS-INT | Fedora internal relationship data, giving height and width information about the JP2 page image |
| OCR | Text extracted from the page image by optical character recognition |
| HOCR | A marked up version of the OCR text, indicating word position on the page |
For Book content model objects, you need a picture of each page to upload. Each page picture needs to be tiff/tif/jpeg/jpg/jp2 . The pages in the book don't all have to be the same file extension as one another, so you can mix .tiff and .jpg or other format into the same Book. If you are starting from a PDF, then use Adobe Acrobat Professional (Adobe Acrobat Reader will not work) to extract an image for each page.
This will load metadata records for each book. Now, you will load the pages. For each Book:
Offline batch ingest is available for the Book content model. In fact, it is preferred that members use offline batch ingest for Books and Newspaper Issues. This is because running OCR takes a lot of server resources when you upload pages through the web interface. Feel free to contact help@flvc.org for assistance in getting started with offline batch ingest.
In order to upload a Compound Object content model, you need to enable the collection to hold:
The Compound Object content model is metadata only. It holds together multiple objects, and those objects can have different formats. Normally, the child objects will already be in the repository. The Parent Object is then created using the Compound Object content model, and the children are then associated with the parent.
The Compound Object content model can be used when two or more objects are related to each other. For example, two images that represent the front and back of a postcard, or a spoken-word audio file and corresponding PDF transcript. In a Compound Object, there is a parent object, loaded using the Compound Object Content Model. The parent object consists of metadata only. (Note that the parent object metadata display will be a default display of the DC datastream until child objects are attached. Replacing a MODS datastream in this situation doesn't update the DC datastream.) It has two or more child objects associated with it that adhere to other content models. The child objects are loaded using the Content Model appropriate to their file types and are associated with the "parent" object. In search results, only the parent object is displayed, and clicking on the parent object displays all "child" objects associated with that parent. Relationships between parent and child objects should be managed from the parent object.
Examples:
For the parent, the following datastreams are created:
| RELS-EXT | Default Fedora relationship metadata |
| MODS | MODS record |
| DC | Dublin Core record |
| TN | Thumbnail image, created from the first page at time of ingest |
To make the Compound Object content model, you don't use a file. Instead, the Compound Object is metadata for holding other content models. A single Compound Object can hold an unlimited number of other items as child objects.
For each Compound Object, you have to manually add the children. Refer to the instructions above for "Uploading Compound Object content model objects one-at-a-time through the web." Especially, use the downloaded spreadsheet as a checklist and to keep organized in matching the correct parent objects with the correct child objects.
Offline Batch Ingest is not available for Compound Object content model objects.
In order to upload the Large Image content model, you need to enable the collection to hold:
The Islandora Large Image Content Model accepts a single image of the following file types as input:
JPEG2000 (.jp2, .jpg2) TIFF (.tiff, .tif)
Large Image objects are displayed as JP2s in an interactive viewfinder (OpenSeadragon).
Examples:
When a JPEG2000 is provided as the source image, the following datastreams are created:
| RELS-EXT | Default Fedora relationship metadata |
| MODS | MODS record |
| DC | Dublin Core record |
| TN | Derived thumbnail image |
| OBJ | A TIFF file created from the source JPEG2000 |
| JP2 | The source JPEG2000 image |
| JPG | A medium sized JPEG derivative. |
When a TIFF image is provided as the source, the OBJ and JP2 datastreams are created differently:
| OBJ | The source TIFF file. |
| JP2 | A JPEG2000 image derived from the TIFF source. |
To make the Large Image content model, you have to have a .jp2, jpg2, or .tiff file.
Offline batch ingest is available for the Large Image content model.
In order to upload the Islandora Newspaper content model, you need to enable the collection to hold:
Newspaper Content Model
Islandora Newspaper Content Model (islandora:newspaperCModel)
No files. Just metadata.
The Islandora Newspaper Content Model does not allow any file upload, and instead only holds metadata for the top-level newspaper - the run of the newspaper, not any issues. It is the top-level container into which issues of the newspaper are loaded. For understanding terminology, the container or root is "The New York Times", and an issue is "VOL. CLXV...No. 57,081/Dec 15, 2015".
A newspaper is displayed as a tree of years and months containing issues.
Islandora automatically creates a browse by date interface. You click to the year, then a month, then the day to get to the issue you want. You are able to upload multiple issues for a single day, for example, if a newspaper had a morning and an evening edition.
Examples (of top level newspaper objects):
When a newspaper is created online through the interactive online interface the following datastreams are created at the Newspaper level:
| RELS-EXT | Default Fedora relationship metadata |
| MODS | MODS record |
| DC | Dublin Core record |
NOTE: No TN (Thumbnail) datastream is created, although the default folder icon will display for a newspaper title. After a newspaper title object is created you can replace the thumbnail (TN) datastream with another thumbnail at any time. Many users use a thumbnail from an attractive newspaper issue as the thumbnail for the newspaper title.
Newspaper Issue Content Model
Islandora Newspaper Issue Content Model (islandora:newspaperIssueCModel)
The Islandora Newspaper Issue content model is metadata only, not files. Pages within the Newspaper Issue will hold the files.
Issues are created through an object with the Islandora Newspaper Content Model. Issues are displayed in the Internet Archive Bookreader and are similar to the Islandora Internet Archive Book content model objects.
Examples:
The following datastreams are created:
| RELS-EXT | Default Fedora relationship metadata |
| MODS | MODS record |
| DC | Dublin Core record |
| TN | Thumbnail image, created from the first page at time of ingest |
The first three datastreams are created by online ingest at the time the issue is created. The TN (Thumbnail) datastream is created when the first page is added to the issue.
Newspaper Page Content Model
Islandora Newspaper Page Content Model (islandora:newspaperPageCModel)
The Newspaper Page Content Model can take TIFF, JP2, or JPG images as source files.
TIFF (.tiff, .tif)
JPEG2000 (.jp2, .jpg2)
JPEG (.jpg, .jpeg)
Newspaper Page objects are added to a Newspaper Issue object in the same way Page Objects are added to Book Objects. Newspaper Page objects are also displayed in the IA Bookreader as jpeg and as jp2 in the OpenSeadragon viewfinder as individual newspaper pages.
If a TIFF file is provided the following datastreams are created.
| RELS-EXT | Default Fedora relationship metadata |
| DC | A minimal Dublin Core record with only title (filename of page image) and Fedora PID |
| TN | Thumbnail image, created from the first page at time of ingest |
| OBJ | The uploaded TIFF file |
| JP2 | A derivative JPEG2000 image created from the TIFF |
| TN | A thumbnail image of the page created from the JP2 |
| JPEG | A derivative medium-sized JPEG image of the page |
| A derivative PDF version of the page | |
| RELS-INT | Fedora internal relationship data, giving height and width information about the JP2 page image |
| OCR | Text extracted from the page image by optical character recognition |
| HOCR | A marked up version of the OCR text, indicating word position on the page |
If a JP2 source file is provided, the OBJ datastream contains the original JP2, and the JP2 datastream contains a derivative JP2.
If a JPG source file is provided, the OBJ datastream contains the original JPG, the JPG datastream contains a medium-sized derivative JPG, and a JP2 derivative is created.
For Newspapers, you need a picture of each page to upload. If you are starting from a PDF, then use Adobe Acrobat Professional (Adobe Acrobat Reader will not work) to extract an image for each page.
There is no way to zip load Newspaper Issues.
Offline batch ingest is available for the Newspaper Issue content model.
The serials module enables users to create a top-level metadata record that represents a serial title and from that record, you can create a hierarchical tree view with links to individual serial issues. Serial issues are either a single PDF that represents an entire issue, or a set of PDFs that represent individual articles or sections of an issue.
The FL-Islandora serials module contains three different types of objects:
An example of an FL-Islandora serial title and relationships with intermediate objects and PDF objects. In this example, the tree hierarchy has two levels, Volume, and Issue:
To configure a collection to contain Serial Content Model objects, enable/check the
Islandora Serial Object Content Model (islandora:rootSerialCModel)
NOTE: Do not enable the following Content Models:
Islandora Serial Object Intermediate Content Model (islandora:intermediateCModel)
Islandora Serial Object Intermediate Category Content Model (islandora:intermediateSerialCModelStub)
Even though it seems counter-intuitive, enabling/checking the above options will cause problems.
For serials, you will upload using PDF. Each PDF has its own metadata. You can upload one PDF for a whole issue, or you can upload several PDFs of articles together in the same issue and the software will display as a table of contents:
The table of contents as a whole and Description tab represents a single Serial Object Intermediate. Sections defined in the left-most column of the table of contents are Serial Object Intermediate Category objects. The article titles represent PDF objects that are children of the Serial Object Intermediate. The "Full Description" tab displays the descriptive metadata for the serial issue intermediate object (No. 4), and the "Serial Details" tab displays the descriptive metadata for the serial title object (Journal of Coastal Research). The “Section” headings are manually created from the “PDF Management” screen found by clicking on the Manage tab. Authorized users can edit and view single PDF objects from this display by clicking on the title link.
Islandora Serial Object Content Model (islandora:rootSerialCModel)
Metadata only. No files.
Similar to the Newspaper Content Model, Serial Objects are the primary parent, container, or "root" object of a serial. For example, the publication Time Magazine would be represented in its entirety by a single Serial Object.
The tree as a whole and Details tab represent the Serial Object.
The Serial Object shows a tree browse of the Serial Object Intermediates. You can specify what these are called. For example, you can have "Volumes" and "Issues". You can have "Years" and "Months". You can have "Volumes" and "Numbers". You can have "Volumes" and "Issues" and "Numbers". You can go as many levels deep as you'd like.
Below, the individual nodes defined by the user are Volume and Issue. Each of those (Volume and Issue) a Serial Object Intermediate object. And below is how the Serial Object looks.
The “Serial Details” tab displays descriptive metadata and a thumbnail of the serial title:
Examples:
Florida Anthropologist: https://palmm.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/uf:147
Spanish River Papers: http://fau.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/fau:13741
Florida Historical Quarterly: https://palmm.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/ucf:9622
The following datastreams will be created:
|
RELS-EXT |
Default Fedora relationship metadata |
|
MODS |
MODS record |
|
DC |
Dublin Core record |
|
TN |
Thumbnail image. Not created on ingest, must be added |
|
SERIAL-LEVELS |
Hierarchical Information for the Serial Object |
Serial Object Intermediate Content Model
Islandora Serial Object Intermediate Content Model (islandora:intermediateCModel)
These are metadata only objects. They have a name specified when you create them, for example, "Volume" or "Issue" or "Month". They allow other content to be structured.
Metadata-only objects that serve as layers of separation between the serial "root" object and the PDF objects. Intermediate objects without intermediate children may have one or more PDF children added through PDF Management. Examples of intermediate objects are year, volume, issue, etc. - as in Time magazines published in 2010. Time vol 81. Time No. 3. No. 3 may have a single PDF of this issue of Time or it may have many in the form of articles. In this example, Time Vol.81 No 3. 2010, is three stacked intermediate objects and is the path down from Serial Object root to a PDF.
The following datastreams will be created:
|
RELS-EXT |
Default Fedora relationship metadata |
|
MODS |
MODS record |
|
DC |
Dublin Core record |
Serial Object Intermediate Category Content Model
Islandora Serial Object Intermediate Category Content Model (islandora:intermediateSerialCModelStub)
Serial Object Intermediate Category Content Model objects are the rarest and most beautiful content model in islandora. Their only purpose is to serve as section headings within the table of contents of a single intermediate object. Example: Editorials in an issue of Time magazine. They may be added as children of intermediates that also have PDF children. They may have no child objects.
The following datastreams will be created:
|
RELS-EXT |
Default Fedora relationship metadata |
|
DC |
Dublin Core record |
For Serial content model objects, you need a .pdf of each article or of each issue to upload. If you are starting from a series of scanned pictures rather than starting with a .pdf, then use Adobe Acrobat Professional (Adobe Acrobat Reader will not work) to combine the images into a .pdf.
Setting up the Serial parent object is one of the trickier things in Islandora. You only do it once for a serial, and the rest of what you do is upload PDFs inside it. Feel free to email help@flvc.org with "Islandora" in the subject line, and ask for someone from FL Library Services to go on screen-sharing with you and set up the serial.
Serials can hold levels and these can be nested any amount deep. For example, you can have "Series" then "Volume" then "Issue". You can have "Volume" then "Number" then "Issue". You can have "Year" then "Month" then "Day". You can have "Volume" then "Quarter" (ie. spring, summer, fall). Look back at the examples, and see how these will look in an accordion display.
The serials module requires you to define the number of levels of hierarchy for each serial title’s hierarchical tree display. Each serial title has its own definition of levels of hierarchy and default metadata that will be used to create the hierarchical tree display.
Next to "Hierarchical Level"
When you've filled out the "Serial Level Configuration" and entered all you levels you'd like to have, click "Next".
Select “Add a level”. You can now define the number of levels of hierarchy in your tree display and the default labels that will appear in the tree display. These labels also populate the MODS datastream for the intermediate objects in the tree. An example of perhaps the most common setup of two levels of hierarchy, volume and issue. (Note that the “default caption value” is the text that will display to the public in the tree, and the MODS)
The Serial Level Configuration is saved to the serial title object as a “SERIALS-LEVELS” datastream. You will be able to modify and delete the SERIALS-LEVELS file as long as you have not created the tree display.
Creating the nodes/branches of the hierarchical tree display
Once your levels of hierarchy are defined you’ll be ready to create the actual hierarchical tree display. That process will use the defaults defined in your SERIALS-LEVELS file. To return to the hierarchical tree display: from a serial title object record click on the Manage tab and then on the Intermediate Management link. You may be presented with the Serial Level Configuration screen (SERIALS-LEVELS) for a last opportunity to modify the hierarchy. If you’re satisfied with your hierarchy, click “Next”.
8) This takes you to a "Create Intermediate Objects" screen. This is a screen that creates a “drag and drop” table. Click “Add another” to start building nodes/branches/intermediate objects of your tree. Create at least one intermediate by typing something into the blank for "Number". For example, if your top level is Volume, then fill in "Number" with 1 to create a Volume 1. To go back and edit this later, click "Ingest".
The table will be populated with an intermediate object at the highest level of your hierarchy, and the Caption field will default to the caption you input in your Serial Level Configuration file. File in the Number field with the value to display in your tree and click “Update” to save.
In the above example, the caption is “Vol.” and the number is “1”. The display label for that node/branch of the hierarchical tree display will be “Vol. 1”.
To create intermediate objects at the lower level of hierarchy, click “Add another”, then drag the new object to the right with your cursor. Islandora will indent the object and the caption will then default to the caption defined for Level 2 of your hierarchy:
You can continue to create additional intermediate objects/nodes/branches using the above steps. Each row in the table will create an serials intermediate object. NOTE: updating/saving the table will cause the public display of the tree to be updated. At this point those nodes will not yet link to PDF objects.
9) Browse to the Serial Object content model object you'd like to add an issue to. Click the "Manage" tab, then click to the "Intermediate Management" tab and check what volumes, issues, numbers, etc. already exist for this Serial.
10) Click "Add another", then drag and drop the new intermediate to where you want it. If you drag it to the right, it will convert from top level in the accordion view to a lower level. Build out a tree to hold your PDFs, by clicking "Add another", dragging and dropping where you want it, and filling in the blank for "Number". (Even though this blank is labeled "Number" it can hold letters or anything you want. For example, if you have something where the issues are named Fall, Winter, Spring, then you can type out "Fall" or "Winter" or "Spring" under the heading "Number".) When you are done or at a stopping point, click "Update". This will save your changes. You can go back at any time to this "Intermediate Management" and building the tree view.
Uploading PDFs to Serial content model objects
The PDF management function and the ability to load PDFs is available only at the lowest level of the tree hierarchy. You cannot load PDFs at any other level of the hierarchical tree. For example, if your hierarchical tree contains two levels of hierarchy, volumes and issues, you will only be able to add PDFs at the issue level and will not be able to add/link PDFs at the volume level.
Serials PDF objects are virtually identical to PDF objects created using the PDF Content Model, however, you cannot modify/transform a PDF object loaded using the PDF Content Model into a serials PDF object. In other words, if you have already loaded a PDF representing a serials issue using the PDF Content Model that object will need to be reloaded from within the serials module if you want it to link to a node in the hierarchical tree display.
1-10) Create the Serial parent object: Follow steps 1 through 10 above.
11) Click to the Serial, then click to the lowest level of the serial tree. For example, if you have Volume, Issue, Number, then you would click to the Number where you want to load the .pdf(s).
12) Click the "Manage" tab, then click the tab for "PDF Management".
13) Click "Add a PDF".
14) If you choose to use the “Add a PDF” option, we recommend that you use the Full MODS edit form and within that form specifically the Related Item Part section of the form to describe the issue. The top-level Title element should be used for the serial title.
Note that the Title in this section of the form refers to the title of an issue and not the serial title. All of the elements in the section of this form will display in the Full Description of the issue with the label “Issue”, in the following order Title, Number, Caption. The MODS detail@type value does not display to the public.
15) You can ignore MARCXML file. MARCXML lets you upload a MARCXML file and that will prepopulate the MODS forms. A library might have these if they are digitizing older public domain materials, where they look for rare items in the catalog, digitize, then export the MARC record from the catalog. You also could make a template MARC file to use if you are uploading a large set of material with many repeated fields that are identical on the whole set of items. MarcEdit will allow easy conversion of a MODS XML file to a MARC XML file. So, to make the MARC XML template, you could use Islandora to fill out repetitive MODS fields, then click to "Manage" then "Datastreams" then "download" MODS, then on your desktop use Notepad to remove fields specific to that item, then use MarcEdit to convert MODS XML to MARC XML, then use the MARC XML template to autofill the repeated fields.
16) Fill out the MODS form and way at the bottom click "Ingest". The MODS Simple Entry Form is pretty long, and the Full MODS Form is even longer. Regarding what fields to fill out, it's good to make a checklist of fields and then fill those out for each pdf. So, maybe... Look at other Islandora sites https://falsc.libguides.com/FL-Islandora/Sites and see what fields show up in search results for a site and think that those are more important for someone using the site (FLVC can change these for your site, if you want to show or not show certain fields).
17) Click "Next".
18) Click "Choose File" and find the pic you would like to upload.
19) After you click "Ingest", you have created the PDF content model object.
Creation of a serial issue containing one PDF per article is similar to the above procedure, with the following exceptions:
1. From the serial title object, click on the node in the hierarchical tree display to which you want to attach the PDF. You will see a “No PDFs are currently associated” message.
2. Click on the Manage tab, and then on the PDF Management link.
3. At this point you can either click on “Add a PDF” to manually create MODS metadata or upload a MARCXML metadata file, or you can click on “Batch Import” to upload a .zip file containing one or more pairs of metadata and PDF files. You can load all articles for the entire issue in one batch.
Zip loading PDFs to Serial content model objects
1-10) Create the Serial parent object: Follow steps 1 through 10 above.
11) Prepare all MODS metadata for your object. It is recommended to use the Excel to MODS Transformer to prepare the metadata, since this will ensure that metadata validates against the MODS schema and meets FLVC's local requirements.
12) Put all the MODS XML and all files, in a single folder. The name of this file should match the name of the corresponding XML. For example, the folder should hold document1.xml, document1.pdf, document2.xml, document2.pdf, etc. and no other files (ie. no XML without a pdf and no pdf without an XML file). Zip that folder to make a .zip file.
13) Click to the Serial, then click to the lowest level of the serial tree. For example, if you have Volume, Issue, Number, then you would click to the Number where you want to load the .pdf(s).
14) Click the "Manage" tab, then click the tab for "PDF Management".
15) This will take you to a "PDF Zip Batch Importer" screen. Upload your .zip file here and click "Import".
Offline batch ingest for the Serial content model
Offline batch ingest is not available for the Serial content model.
The quick "Add Intermediate" function
The "Add Intermediate" button allows you to quickly add nodes to your serials tree, especially if your serial has many nodes.
1. From the place in the hierarchy tree to which you'd like to add another node. For example, if your 1st level of hierarchy is "Year" you must be at the serial title level. If you wish to add a second level of hierarchy node, e.g., month, you must first click on the year to which you'd like to add a month.
2. Then click "Manage" and "Add Intermediate". You'll see a screen with a brief display in which the node type has been provided by Islandora. (Hint, if you see the wrong node Type being displayed you are in the wrong node.):
3. Fill in the appropriate Caption and Number for the node.
4. Click "Add". You'll remain in the "Add Intermediate" screen and will be able to create additional nodes at the same level (e.g., all months in a given year).
5. When you're finished adding new nodes simple close the pop-up.
You can then return to the tree and add PDFs to your new node(s).
Modifying the nodes/branches of the hierarchical tree display
The hierarchical tree display can be modified at any time after it has been created. You can “drag and drop” nodes/branches of the tree at any level from the “Intermediate Management” function. Any PDFs linked to the intermediate objects will move with them.
You can also modify the caption and number values at any time from this table, and the changes will be reflected both in the hierarchical tree display as well as in the MODS of the intermediate objects.
Editing a single PDF issue
Because the serials module accommodates both single PDF and multiple PDF issues, staff users need to do the following in order to edit a single PDF issue:
1. From the serial title hierarchical tree display, click on the intermediate object to which the PDF issue is linked. For staff users only (public users are taken directly to the PDF display) the intermediate object will be displayed, along with a title link to the PDF issue:
2. Click on the title link to view and edit the PDF object from the Manage tab:
Editing a Multi-PDF Issue
Table of contents viewed from the “PDF Management” link found under the Manage tab:
The PDF Management function displays a “drag and drop” table allows you to use the 
symbol to drag articles and sections to reorder them.
In order to upload the Video content model, you need to enable the collection to hold:
The Islandora Video Content Model is used for single video files.
It accepts the following file types:
MPEG-4 (.mp4) QuickTime (.mov, .qt) M4V(Apple) (.m4v) Audio Video Interleaved (.avi) Matroska Multimedia Container (.mkv)
Files must be less than 2048 MB (2 GB) if you upload them through the GUI. If you have a file larger than 2GB, contact help@flvc.org with "Islandora" in the subject line of your email.
Videos are currently displayed in FL-Islandora by JWPlayer.
Examples:
The following datastreams will be created:
| RELS-EXT | Default Fedora relationship metadata |
| MODS | MODS metadata record created during ingest |
| DC | Dublin Core record |
| OBJ | The original video file ingested |
| MP4 | MP4 derivative created during ingest by ffmpeg and used by JWPlayer if no suitable video exists |
| MKV | MKV derivative created during ingest by ffmpeg (disabled by default) |
| TN | Thumbnail image pulled from a frame of the video by ffmpeg2theora |
To make the Video content model, you have to have a .mp4, .mov, .qt, .m4v, .avi, and .mkv file.
Offline batch ingest is available for the Large Image content model.