This document is intended to be a guide to creating and populating Publication of Archival, Library and Museum Materials (PALMM) collections in Fl-Islandora.
The FL-Islandora PALMM site consists of PALMM branding/design and PALMM collections with which content objects created on institutional FL-Islandora sites have been shared. PALMM collection objects on the FL-Islandora PALMM site are created and maintained by FLVC Library Services staff. Institutional staff have the ability to share content objects with the FL-Islandora PALMM site, but those content objects are maintained on the institutional FL-Islandora site. The FL-Islandora PALMM site can be considered a "view only" Islandora site with no content objects of its own.
Content objects created through the user interface online ingest or batch import (zip file importer) process should first be ingested into an appropriate collection in an institutional site. Then, working in the institutional site, the operator should share the objects with a pre-existing PALMM collection using the collection management function “Share members of this collection”.
NOTE: If you have added new members to an institutional collection whose existing members have been shared with a PALMM collection, you can simply "Share all Objects" with the PALMM collection. This operation does not cause re-indexing of objects that have already been shared.
Share During Offline Batch Ingest
Objects created through the offline batch ingest process should specify both institutional collections (one or more) and PALMM collections (one or more) in the manifest. The offline batch ingest process will ingest the objects into the institutional collection(s) and automatically share them with the PALMM collection(s).
Under ordinary circumstances objects are not removed from a PALMM collection while at the same being retained in an institutional collection. However, should this operation be necessary please contact firstname.lastname@example.org with the Islandora PIDs of the objects to be removed and the PALMM PIDs of the collections from which they should be removed.
Permanently removing/deleting content objects from and institutional site and the PALMM site