Individual collection and item metadata input in Islandora 2.0 is accomplished via the Repository Item form. Like any Drupal website, Islandora 2.0 stores and treats this inputted content as a node, a kind of content entity which is any piece of individual content, and can also include a page, article, forum topic, or a blog entry.
This page gives an overview of how metadata is stored, and how to enter the metadata through the user interface. For more advanced topics on managing metadata visit the Metadata Management and Advanced Metadata pages of this guide . For an outline of the metadata requirements for state standards and how to enter them, visit the Content Management page.
See the glossary for key definitions.
Three major kinds of entities (things)*:
media entities = holds your files and the metadata about that file, a container
content entities = holds metadata about your subject matter; example: Repository item
taxonomy vocabulary terms = holds metadata about an entity classified as a certain type of taxonomy vocabulary; example: person
*Adapted from video "Metadata Management in Islandora"
The metadata form starts off with 2 required items. The first is a Title. The other is a Model. A Model has values that when selected tell Islandora how to display the item. The different Model values to choose from are: Audio, Binary, Collection, Compound Object, Digital Document, Image, Newspaper, Page, Paged Content, Publication Issue, and Video. Audio would be used if to add an Audio file. Binary would be used to add PowerPoint slide decks, Excel Spreadsheets, etc. A Collection would be used to add a collection. A Compound Object would be used to create a Compound Object. A Digital Document would be used to add files like PDF’s. An Image would be used to add a picture. A Newspaper would be used to add a top-level newspaper. A Page would be used to add a page to a Book or a page to a newspaper issue. A Paged Content would be used to Add a Book. A Publication Issue would be used to create a Newspaper Issue. A Video would be used to add a video.
Relationships will show the Member of with the name of the collection. It will be pre-filled in. By typing in the Member of box, you can move the item from the current collection to another or clicking Add another item you can share the item to another collection but also keep it in the current collection. Clicking the Remove Button works if you have 2 or more Member of boxes. It will remove the extra boxes.
The Title Details area allows you type in the Full Title box the Full Title if the Title box, under Required, is longer than 255 characters. Also, an Alternative Title box can be used for another title of the item that is different from the main title. The Remove and Add another item buttons work the same as Relationships buttons.
Contributors is where a Contributor to the item is added. It has a Relationship Type boxes. The first box has a drop-down box that has multiple items to choose for what the Contributor(s) might be. The second box only has a list of names that were added for person, family or corporate body. Just start typing in the name and list appears to choose from.
Next is the Place Published. This is where the place of the item was published: City, State. Like Place in Islandora 7.
Next is Date Issued. The date is the form of: YYYY-MM-DD. This is where the date of item is placed. The date of formal issuance of the resource. This includes publications dates.
Next is the Date Created. This is where the Date of creation of the resource would be placed. It is also in the form of YYYY-MM-DD.
Next is the Additional Date Types. This is where less-frequently needed specific types of dates are placed. Copyright Date is one such Additional Date Types.
Next is the Edition Statement. This is where field 250 information is place.
Next are the Publication Details. There is where the Mode of Issuance and Frequency of a publication is placed.
Next is the Description. This is where the description of the resource. Examples are abstract, a table of contents etc.
Next is Specific Description Fields. This is where an Abstract would go. This is where a description of the contents would go in the Table of Contents. Additional information on the item can be put in the Note area.
Next is Language. This is where the language of the content is placed.
Next is Type. This is where a general genre type is selected from a drop-down menu.
Next is Genre. This is where a more specific term or terms that designate a category characterizing a particular style, form, or content then is chosen in the above Type. For example, artistic, musical, literary composition, etc.
Next is Form. This is where the physical format of the item is described.
Next is Extent. This is where the size or duration of the item in its original form is placed.
Next is Subject. This is where general subjects which may include topical, geographic, etc are placed.
Next is Specific Subject Types. This is where if using separate fields for topical, geographic, name etc is placed. Also, if there is any Geographic Coordinates for an item, it would be placed here.
Next is Classification. This is where Dewey, Library of Congress and Other classification would go.
Next is Identifiers. This is where Identifier, ISBN, OCLC Number, Local Identifier, and PID (from Islandora 7)
would all go.
Next is Viewer Override where an alternate viewer can be selected.
Next is System. This is where Language can be chosen. Where Custom Sort Value can be chosen, used for books and newspapers. Where a date of authored on can be chosen.
Next is Rights. This is where Rights Statements would go.
