Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FL-Islandora Guide

A guide for FL-Islandora users.

Univerisity of Central Florida FL-Islandora Profile

 

Institution:   University of Central Florida

Contact:   Lee Dotson

Production site created:  URL https://ucf.digital.flvc.org/

Total number of titles/objects as of 4/28/2021 2,270

Total number of files as of 4/28/2021 36,842

Collections

Collections: 

  •  The Florida Historical Quarterly
      • https://ucf.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/ucf:fhq
      • The Florida Historical Quarterly, the academic journal of the Florida Historical Society, promotes scholarly research and appreciation for the peoples, places, themes, and diversity of Florida's past. The Society is the oldest cultural institution in the state, tracing its origins to 1856. The Quarterly has served to expand understanding of Florida's historical development and offers a broad spectrum of articles. Published four times annually, the Quarterly continues the tradition of high quality scholarly articles established and maintained by the Society. The Quarterly has been a central component of the mission of the Florida Historical Society to promote scholarly research and publication. Students, researchers, and casual readers may use the collection liberally, although reproduction of materials for use outside of classrooms must be approved by the Society.
    • PRISM: Political & Rights Issues & Social Movements, a collaborative digitization project of the libraries and special collections departments of Florida Atlantic University (FAU), and the University of Central Florida (UCF), is composed of materials focusing on a wide range of political and rights issues and social movements which provide insight into the prevailing leftist and liberal views of the times from countries all around the world; from the United States to Korea and India to Canada.

      UCF's contributions focus on a collection of political pamphlets on socialism and communism collected by Miss Van Sickle, a staunch Canadian Socialist from the 1920s through the 1970s. Topics covered in the pamphlets include liberal or leftist causes from the time period collected such as: world pacifism, anti-racism, anti-Semitism, British and world labor movements, communism, socialism, women's rights, and the "ban-the-bomb" movement. Many of the items in the collection are extremely rare, and possibly unique to the UCF collection. Over 2,000 pamphlets have been catalogued and can be searched using the library's Online Catalog or by clicking here. Another 150 pamphlets are uncatalogued and can be searched using the Uncataloged Van Sickle Pamphlets Guide.

  • UCF Special Collections
    • https://ucf.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/ucf:speccol
    • Special Collections acquires monographs, maps, photographs, ephemera, and visual and audio materials that have a central function to the curriculum that support long-term research goals.
    • African American Legacy
      • https://ucf.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/ucf%3Amundy
      • Collected by Carol Mundy, this collection contains over 1,500 items relating to African American history. The collection includes an array of materials which all speak to the black experience. While the collection is comprehensive both nationally and internationally, it contains materials that relates to local African American history.
    • Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters collection, 1934-1965
    • Civil War
      • https://ucf.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/ucf:civilwar
      • The Civil War digital collection hosts UCF owned materials made available to the Civil War in the American South portal. The central portal provides access digital collections from the Civil War Era (1850-1865) held by members of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL).
    • Floridiana
      • https://ucf.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/ucf:floridiana
      • UCF's Floridiana collection comprises a variety of books, manuscripts, maps and ephemera all relating to the state of Florida, particularly the Central Florida region.
      • UCF Florida Heritage
        • https://ucf.digital.flvc.org/islandora/search/?type=edismax&collection=ucf%3Aflheritage
        • This collection contains UCF's contributions to the Florida Heritage Collection, an ongoing cooperative project of the State University System (SUS) of Florida to digitize and provide online access to materials broadly representing Florida's history, culture, arts, literature, sciences and social sciences. Thematic areas in this growing collection include Native American and minority populations, exploration and development, tourism, the natural environment, and regional interests. Materials are taken from archives, special collections, and libraries of the state universities. These materials represent only a small part of the wealth of historical and archival treasures held by the UCF Libraries.
    • George and Anne Millay Collection
      • https://ucf.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/ucf:millay
      • George Millay founded both Sea World and Wet 'n Wild for which he was named Father of the Waterpark Industry. This collection documents the complicated and not always successful process of building a new waterpark. In addition, the collection contains information on George Millay's other projects and his personal achievements.
    • Joy Postle Papers, 1910-2015
      • https://ucf.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/ucf:postle
      • Joy Postle, (1896-1989) was a prolific artist whose career spanned more than seventy years. Best known for her murals and paintings of Florida wildlife, especially birds, the "Joy Postle Papers, 1910-2015" documents the life and work of this beloved artist. The collection includes paintings, prints, sketches, manuscript material, photographic materials, and ephemera by and about Joy Postle. Much of the collection is devoted to her art in all its forms and materials she used for inspiration.

Noteworthy features of this site: 

  • The UCF FL-Islandora site has the Florida Historical Quarterly journal collection.
  • The UCF FL-Islandora site has PRISM: Political & Rights Issues & Social Movements is a sizeable historic political and rights collection.
  • The UCF FL-Islandora site has a collection dedicated to African American History called African American Legacy – The Carol Mundy Collection 1794-2010.  
  • The UCF FL-Islandora site has the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters collection 1934-1965.