Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FL-Islandora Guide

A guide for FL-Islandora users.

Florida Atlantic University FL Islandora Profile

Institution:   Florida Atlantic University (FAU)

Contact:  Joanne Parandjuk 

Production site created: December 8, 2013.  URL https://fau.digital.flvc.org

Total number of titles/objects as of 4/23/2021 14,006

Total number of files as of 4/23/2021 50,290

Collections

Collections: 

  • A featured collection: Spirit of America
      • https://fau.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/fau:allweiner
      •  The Marvin & Sybil Weiner Spirit of America Collection is comparable in scope and content to the collections of the American Antiquarian Society and the Library Company of Philadelphia. Originally inspired to emulate the personal libraries of men like Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson and John Adams, Marvin Weiner spent a lifetime collecting the books and pamphlets that a colonial gentleman would have owned. Taking great care to purchase the same editions that were available in 18th century America, Mr. Weiner eventually amassed a collection of more than 13,000 books, pamphlets, government publications, newspapers and serials, including rare works from as early as the 16th century.
      • The Weiner Spirit of America digital collection includes more than 800 almanacs, documents, speeches, letters from the Marvin & Sybil Weiner Spirit of America Pamphlets Collection which comprises more than 50 archival boxes housed in FAU Libraries' Special Collections & Archives.

  • Dances We Dance
    • https://fau.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/fau:dwd
    • The Dances We Dance Performance Showcase is a capstone experience for students enrolled in FAU's Department of Theater and Dance performance courses available in the College of Arts & Letters. Every Fall and Spring semester students perform the showcase before a live audience which is filmed. The Digital Library makes each dance performed available as well as the program flyer for the event which provides details on the music, performers, choregrapher and other event production information.

  • Jaffe Center for Book Arts
    • https://fau.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/fau:jaffe
    • FAU Libraries Jaffe Center for Book Arts revolves around the Arthur and Mata Jaffe Collection: Books as Aesthetic Objects. This collection consists primarily of visual books gathered more for their artistic expression than for their informational content. Words and text were not the primary consideration in building this collection, which has been assembled within a wide parameter of aesthetics and book structures (including books that defy traditional structure completely). Visit the JCBA to view the wide array of books in many artistic styles. The JCBA digital collections below focus on the more easily digitized broadside collections housed in the center and Book Arts newsletters from JCBA.
  • Marvin E. Kemery Collection
    • https://fau.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/fau:kemery
    • This collection of correspondence and maps by World War I United States Army Officer Marvin Kemery describes the emotions and environment in which he served.  Mr. Kemery was a Private in the Fourth Army, 37th Division, 135th Field Artillery Regiment.

  • Sheet Music Collection
    • https://fau.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/fau:psm
    • The Print Music Collections housed in the Florida Atlantic University Libraries Special Collections Department contain more than 30,000 musical scores and documents organized in four large collections: American Popular, Classical, Jewish, and Cantors. These materials date from the 17th through 21st centuries and include rare and unique manuscripts, published scores, and sheet music. The repertoire includes scores for solo voice, choir, solo instruments, jazz combos, chamber ensembles, and orchestra. This digital collection contains a sampling of pieces largely from the Jewish and Cantors collections.

  • Yiddish Children’s Books Collection
    • https://fau.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/fau:ycb
    • The condition and uniqueness of the Yiddish Children’s Books make them ideal candidates for a digital library collection. These small, bound storybooks intended to be held in the hands of children but now to fragile to be handled have been brought to life in this online collection. This digital collection of children’s books includes original stories by Yiddish authors that include Sholem Aleichem, Jacob Pat, and Sholem Asch. The collection also includes Yiddish translations of non-Jewish children’s stories by such authors as Hans Christian Andersen, Rudyard Kipling, and Jacob Grimm. Harriet Beecher Stowe's famous novel, Uncle Tom’s Cabin, is translated into Yiddish as Feter Tom.

Noteworthy features of this site: 

  • Home page has a slideshow promoting specific collections.
  • The FAU FL-Islandora site has an Oral History Collection along with a LGBT Oral History Collection.
  • The FAU FL-Islandora site has a great Florida Book Collection with pictures or drawings of many Florida Cities.
  • The FAU FL-Islandora site has Dances We Dance with over 200 videos of various FAU dance performances.
  • FAU ETD Collections Remain the Top 2

Collections accessed according to Islandora Google Analytics.