Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FL-Islandora Guide

A guide for FL-Islandora users.

Broward College FL-Islandora Profile

Institution:   Broward College

Islandora instance:  Broward College Digital Archives

http://broward.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/broward%3Aroot

Contact:   Silvia Perez Barraza

Production site created: February 16, 2014 URL https://broward.digital.flvc.org

Total number of titles/objects as of 6/16/2021 2,613

Total number of files as of 6/16/2021 6,142

  

Collections

Collections: 

    • Aspen Institute Faculty Innovation Grant Poster Collection
      • https://broward.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/broward:aspenposters
      • As part of the recognition as an Aspen Prize Finalist with Distinction in 2017, Broward College was given a $100,000 award. That was used to fund Aspen Institute Faculty Innovation Grants, competitively awarded to Broward College faculty for projects in support of:
        • innovative teaching and learning
        • student success
        • pathways implementation
      • Twenty-four grant proposals were selected. Participants were required to create academic posters describing the grant proposal and grant results. The Aspen Institute Faculty Innovation Grant Poster Collection contains those posters.
      • The grant proposal posters were first displayed during the Professional Development Day - Leading Educational Achievement through Development Conference (PDD-LEAD) held at Broward College Central Campus on February 23, 2018. The grant results posters were first displayed at the Broward College 2018-2019 Welcome Back event held at Broward College North Campus on August 16, 2018.

    • Broward College Ephemera Collection
      • https://broward.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/broward:ephemera
      • This collection contains ephemeral items related to the Junior College of Broward County. It includes brochures, invitations, pamphlets, programs, and other ephemeral documents related to the social history of the college. These digital items are part of the larger Broward College Scrapbook Collection, [Record Group 300], made up of 22 oversized scrapbooks documenting the college from 1960 to 1986 and available in Archives and Special Collections.

    • Broward College Undergraduate Research Collection
      • http://broward.digital.flvc.org/islandora/search/?type=edismax&collection=broward%3Augresearch
      • This collection contains student-created content presented at various research-related events held at Broward College. The content was developed using project-based learning methods. The content was vetted and peer-reviewed for inclusion in this collection. The content and events were designed to promote:
        • Student engagement
        • Information literacy and career-related research skills
        • Collaboration among and between BC, FAU, and alumni
    • Broward Community College by Cynthia Thuma
      • https://broward.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/broward:thumacol
      • Original photographs compiled by Cynthia Thuma, Senior Analyst, Promotion and Public Relations, that were included in the College History Series monograph Broward Community College, published by Arcadia Press in 2002. The original images are part of the Broward College Archives and Special Collections department, [Record Group 096 002]. This digital collection is based on the images and text written by Thuma.

    • Cultural Objects Collection
      • https://broward.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/broward%3A55
      • Broward College is working to digitize images of objects from the Broward County Archaeological Society (BACS), formerly known as the Graves Museum, that were donated to the College in 2005. The collection includes a wide variety of genres and date ranges, including Pre-Columbian and underwater archaeology objects, along with collections from Africa, Asia, and the Mediterranean.

    • P’an Ku
      • https://broward.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/broward%3Apankucol
      • The official student literary magazine of Broward College. First published in 1964, the magazine has evolved through the decades into a sophisticated publication reflecting the diverse creative output of Broward College students. Published irregularly, with a brief hiatus in the mid 1980's. P'an Ku is also available in digital format on the Internet Archive.

    • Scrapbook Collection
      • https://broward.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/broward%3Ascrapbcol
      • This collection documents the 1960-1967 history of Junior College of Broward County, through contemporary newspaper clippings from the South Florida press. This digital collection is part of the larger Broward College Scrapbook Collection, [Record Group 300], made up of 22 oversized scrapbooks documenting the college from 1960 to 1986 and available in Archives and Special Collections. After 1986, the scrapbooks ceased and college related news clippings are maintained in boxed files.
      • The icon for this collection depicts Grady Drake (1922-2019), the first director of Libraries at Broward College from the college's founding in 1960 to his retirement in 1989. The Scrapbook Collection is dedicated to his memory and for his many contributions to the students and faculty of Broward College.

    • The Observer
      • https://broward.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/broward%3Atheobservercol
      • First published in 1960 as the Venetian Crier, The Observer is the official student newspaper of Broward College. By the 1980's each major Broward College campus had their own individual newspaper: Central Campus- Phoenix; South Campus- New Horizons; North Campus- Polaris. In 1986, the individual campus newspapers were consolidated into one college-wide publication: The Observer.

    • Venetian Crier
      • https://broward.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/broward%3Avenetiancrier
      • The Venetian Crier was the first student paper at the Junior College of Broward County. Classes started in September 1960 and the first issue was published on 26-10-1960. In the mid-twentieth century, Fort Lauderdale was marketed as the Venice of the United States and the name Venetian Crier was chosen to reflect that notion. In Venice, Italy, the gondoliers sailed the Venetian canals by calling (announcing) the news and messages as they plied the canals. Hence, the new college newspaper took on a similar role at the college- to spread the news far and wide among the student body and to the community.

 

Noteworthy features of this site: 

    • Broward College FL-Islandora site has a slide show highlighting several of its collections.
    • The Broward College Digital Archives hosts several collections representing the varied holdings of Broward College Archives and Special Collections.  Additionally, it hosts collections with faculty and student-created content presented at various research-related events held at Broward College.
    • Broward College FL-Islandora site has an Asian Collection.
    • Broward College FL-Islandora site has a Cultural Objects Collection along with a Rare Books collection.
    • Broward College FL-Islandora site hosts several newspaper collections published by Broward College.