LibGuides: OPEN FL: Rapid Response -- Adopting OER in an emergency

Adopting OER in an Emergency

Events, such as pandemics and hurricanes, can prompt quick migrations to online learning. This page brings together resources for rapid assimilation into coursework. We hope that this provides aid in times of emergency, uncertainty, or transition.

As an historical example, when COVID-19 hit in 2020, vendors offered limited-time free access to their tools and platforms. Then and today, we urge you to consider online resources that are always free or affordable. Please also consider that students may be experiencing greater financial stress than usual if they’re not able to work or are limited in work hours due to an event like a pandemic or natural disaster. Consider investing your time, now or over summer, in trying resources and tools that will continue to be free to you and your students when circumstances return to normal and will provide equal access to learning resources on day one.

Don’t forget library resources! The library also has robust digital collections and archives, ebooks, and streaming video services year round.

Quick info re current emergencies from Florida DOE:

Florida DOE Emergency Response
"The purpose of this page is to provide the public with relevant information regarding the status of various emergencies Florida may be experiencing at a given time."
Florida Disaster.org, Division of Emergency Management

Natural Disaster Resources from U.S. DOE
"Resources for Restoring the Teaching and Learning Environment."
CDC's COVID-19 guidance and resources links
From the Association of Florida Colleges (AFC), 2021
FSU Emergency Online Instruction
When an emergency affects your ability to teach your courses, ODL is here to help. Even if you've never taught online, learning a few basics can help you keep your courses running in spite of a campus closure. It can also help you recover after the emergency is over. Whether you're new to Canvas or have some experience, we've assembled resources for delivering your classes online.
Keep Teaching USG
Georgia Resource: Keep Teaching USG is a webpage designed to guide faculty toward helpful resources and contacts as they make the transition to remote instruction.
UWF Center for Global Online Learning and Development
"The COVID-19 pandemic has changed our lives and how we teach and connect to our students. This is also an amazing opportunity to re-examine how we present our classes through a new lens. The purpose of our Online Resource Guide is to give you a baseline for the biggest questions you’re facing as you navigate this new chapter in higher education."
Online Student Readiness Tutorials
Through a variety of engaging activities and resources, these tutorials will help prepare students for greater success in the online learning environment. All of the tutorials are intended to improve the rates of success and retention in online courses. Tutorials 1-6 focus on skill development for new online students, while the remaining tutorials identify resources and strategies to assist the experience online student with timely course and degree completion. Along with the tutorials we have provided a set of interactive tools that are useful to students as they continue their academic pursuits.
more...less...
These works are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. They are available to everyone and may be repurposed to meet the unique needs of educational institutions.
Virtual Labs and Science Resources
Sources: Golabz; MERLOT; The OpenScience Laboratory from Open University and the Wolfson Foundation; PhET Interactive Simulations from the University of Colorado Boulder
Optimizing High Quality Digital Learning Experiences: a Playbook for Faculty
Free downloadable guide: "...it is now essential that faculty meet the learning needs of minoritized students through effective digital course design and teaching strategies."
Student Tips for Remote Learning
Handout with student study tips, which you are able to modify for your local needs with the given Creative Commons License.
Free Resources: a Libguide from FAU
"Free Resources is a curated list of free resources,organized into broad disciplines with subdivisions, for all age groups and reading levels, reference materials reviewed by librarians, a quick reference to valuable resources which are unique or may be difficult to find, and continually being updated.

Online Resources for Science Laboratories (POD) - Remote Teaching (Free and Fee Based)
Please note that this is not an endorsement for any of these resources, it is just a gathering of resources. Please vet and discuss with others at your institution as to the viability/safety of what you intend to use.

UNESCO: The inclusion of learners with disabilities: guidelines on emergency movement to online and distance learning
"The document addresses emergency movement to online and distance learning which is inclusive of learners with disabilities with a view to contributing to the implementation of relevant articles (9, 21 and 24) of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (2006) to support access to quality learning opportunities for persons with disabilities and access to information and knowledge using inclusive, accessible and affordable solutions."
U.S. DOE Press Release for Accessibility Webinar and Fact Sheet
The Office for Civil Rights (OCR) at the U.S. Department of Education released today a webinar on ensuring web accessibility for students with disabilities for schools utilizing online learning during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak. In addition, OCR published a fact sheet for education leaders on how to protect students' civil rights as school leaders take steps to keep students safe and secure. These resources will assist education leaders in making distance learning accessible to students with disabilities and in preventing discrimination during this Administration-wide response effort.

Resources on Copyright & Emergency Remote Teaching & Research
Library Copyright Experts have joined together to provide these resources for higher education, including college, research, community college, and special libraries.
Copyright Education and Information
Copyright is determined by the country in which the product was produced. Since we are located with the United States information provided here reflect U.S. laws. The information preented here is intended for informational or educational purposes only.
COVID-19 AND COPYRIGHT RESOURCES (2022)
"In 2020, COVID-19 changed everything in our lives, including the way we live, work and interact with each other. In the world of copyright, it created some unique circumstances under which we use copyright-protected materials. Highly publicized situations of using copyright materials under time-sensitve circumstances during this crisis included virtual story times and using content in online teaching. This raised questions about COVID-19 and copyright resources.
Note: This article was originally published on 22 December 2020 and has been updated on 24 February 2022. As you review the resources below, keep in mind that many of them were originally published between March and June 2020 and interpretations of fair use, fair dealing and short-term licenses from copyright owners may differ for subsequent uses of copyright materials in libraries and schools and other organizations."
COVID-19, Copyright, & Library Superpowers (Part I)
Fair Use and Exigent Circumstances
COVID-19, Copyright, and Library Superpowers (Part II)
Exigent Circumstances and §108 or Don’t Stop Doc Del’ing (sung to the tune of Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believin’”)

Collections Care Amid Covid-19
The following resources were compiled to assist conservators and collections care professionals during the COVID-19 pandemic. As always, we advise all to follow the advice of federal, state, and local public health officials.
Handling Library Materials and Collections During a Pandemic
The following information and resources are meant to assist libraries, institutions, and archives during a pandemic. Some of the resources are specific to influenza outbreaks but can be used more universally to help educate and inform decisions on pandemic prevention and preparedness.
Indian River State College Controlled Digital Lending Textbooks
IRSC instituted controlled digital lending during COVID via a Google Form for students to request 4-hour access to a textbook; they could view the digitized book in Google Drive before removal at the 4-hour mark.
Mitigating COVID-19 When Managing Paper-Based, Circulating, and Other Types of Collections
Dr. David Berendes and Dr. Catherine Rasberry from the Centers for Disease Control presented an overview of the CDC’s guidance for community settings and environmental disinfection, and a discussion of how libraries, archives, and museums can help mitigate COVID-19 when working with paper-based, circulating, and other types of collections.  The presentation was followed by a question and answer period.
Information Session on the Impact of the COVID-19 Pandemic on the Copyright Ecosystem - May 9, 2022
WIPO--World Intellectual Property Organization

Resources for Stress
This guide provides information and resources on stress, especially stress related to education and young adults.
Well-Being In Stressful Times
This guide is for keeping calm and keeping up your spirits in stressful time. See the "Stuck at home" tab for things to do with kids, activities for yourself, and help with classes.

OPEN FL: Rapid Response -- Adopting OER in an emergency

Adopting OER in an Emergency

OPEN FL Home Buttons