The open and affordable community of Florida, OPEN FL, has defined open in a spectrum. As you begin around the O we start with public domain, the most open content we can use in an educational setting and where you should start your journey to find suitable, quality content. When you work your way around the O, the openness of the content actually closes, but all efforts support an open and affordable learning environment for our students.
For education and information on U.S. Copyright please see the Copyright Guide.
Content in the public domain has fallen out of copyright protection, has been placed in the domain by U.S. law, or was marked as public domain by the content creator.
Copyright Genie The Copyright Genie will walk you through the steps to determine if a work is in copyright and, if it is, when it will enter the public domain.
Digital Copyright Slider From the ALA Office for Information Technology Policy, a visual and interactive way to figure out if something is under copyright.
Trademark and the Public Domain - an informative page on the Public Domain Sherpa website that offers insight into reusing works that are in the public domain (or whose copyrights have expired) yet include a trademark. Essentially, what it comes down to is how you use the trademark. To commit trademark infringement, you would have to use the trademark commercially and/or potentially confuse consumers regarding the identity of a product or service.
If you find materials with CC licenses, you are free to use the content as long as you follow the license requirements. You can Search the Commons to find relevant content on a number of search engines and websites.
Creative Commons - A non-profit organization that works to increase the amount of scholarly works (cultural, educational, and scientific content) in "the commons" — the body of work that is available to the public for free and legal sharing, use, re-purposing, and re-mixing.
Science Commons - A Creative Commons project "meant to lift legal and technical barriers to research and discovery".
Open access content is often licensed similarly to Creative Commons content, however there are no set license terms. Each publisher may have different terms and permissions allowed, so content licenses and terms of agreements should be read thoroughly to understand what is permitted.
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books - Directory of Open Access Books is a joint service of OAPEN, OpenEdition, CNRS and Aix-Marseille Université, provided by DOAB Foundation in cooperation with SemperTool
Indicates Open and Copyright Unclear W/ No Access Barriers
Content in this area is most likely open access; however, there is not a clear license. The content should have no access barriers and must be free to use. Content licenses, statements, and terms of agreements should be read thoroughly to understand what is permitted. With this content it is advised that faculty link out to this content and not embed or re-mix into their course/work.
Licensed Works (Caution- Most Materials Not Open)
If you are using library-licensed materials for an online course, such as on Canvas, you should consider providing perma-links, DOIs, or citations of the specific resource rather than including them in the learning management system (LMS) for students to download directly. This is beneficial for several reasons: usage statistics for that resource will increase, which will let librarians in collection development know that the resource is being used (because when resources have low usage statistics, they have a greater chance of having their subscription canceled); some of the licenses may not allow for electronic reuse in learning management systems, like the LMS; and if you provide citations (with no links), students will better learn how to search and navigate the library databases for the specified resources.
Copyright, and course use, is determined by the original material's copyrights, not the libraries' digitized item. These items will vary and may be in the public domain, creative commons licensed, open access licensed, undetermined, or under full copyright protection. Please contact the local library to get assistance in determining use rights if you are uncertain.
Education Use Permitted
Content in this area is most likely okay to use for coursework; however, there is not a clear license. The content should have no access barriers and must be free to use. Content licenses, statements, and terms of agreements should be read thoroughly to understand what is permitted. With this content it is advised that faculty link out to this content and not embed or re-mix into their course/work.
If you are only having students use the materials in the physical class room section or within the LMS you may be able to use exemptions allowed by U.S. law Sections 110(1) or 110(2). However, if you expect students to use the material outside of the active classroom/lecture you should determine if you have a fair use exemption (Section 107) instead. If you feel the documented evaluation of your use is fair then you may be able to use the content, so long as it is a legal copy. When the environment, such as where the materials will be made available, changes or the context of why you are sharing the materials changes (i.e. the first factor of fair use or the purpose of your use), your use must then be re-evaluated. If you decide to make copyrighted materials available publicly online rather than only available to students officially enrolled in the course (e.g. through Canvas), then you will need to evaluate if this use is a fair use. (Please note, case law favors plaintiffs with proven or potential market impact.)
Please note that all exemptions in the law need to be determined each time the content is reviewed or curated. We advise that faculty re-evaluate their exemptions at least once per year. New content is falling into the public domain every year or being created in an openly licensed way everyday.
Fair Use Evaluator This tool helps you make a fair use evaluation and provides a PDF document of your evaluation for your records.
If necessary, request permission or purchase a license through a collective rights agency to use the item; it's not very common for an individual faculty member to purchase a license for use of a copyrighted work in the classroom. Faculty members in music, drama, and dance may be familiar with purchasing specific public performance licenses.
Model Permission Letters can be used to ask permission before posting content, from Dr. Kenneth D. Crews (formerly of Columbia University)
Developed for Austin CC, but includes applicable learning modules:
The first nine modules will serve as an introduction to open educational resources (OER) and as an opportunity for further exploration and discovery of open education practices. The tenth module serves as a final assessment of your learning. Throughout the modules there are opportunities for you to test your knowledge and further explore a concept. The modules allow you to learn at your own pace. While you can follow the modules in any order, it is recommended that you start with Module 1 and progress through in order.
This course provides faculty with an introduction to the laws that influence the use, re-use, and distribution of content they may want to use in a course. Activities include finding openly licensed content for use in a class and publishing openly licensed works created by faculty. At the end of the course, students will have openly licensed content that will be ready for use in a course.
Developed for USG faculty and staff, but contains applicable content. This is a non-facilitated program. Finding Free and Open Resources, a chapter-by-chapter informational tutorial for USG faculty and staff interested in replacing expensive commercial textbooks with affordable resources. This is the first in a set of two informational tutorials. The second tutorial, Using, Adapting, and Creating Open Resources, is forthcoming.
This course walks you through techniques to incorporate Open Educational Resources (OER) into your teaching practice. The course will cover the fundamental aspects of OER including open licensing and public domain. It focuses on providing practical guidance in locating and applying openly available resources.
The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation sponsors OER Research Fellowships to do research on the impact of open educational resources on the Cost of education, student success Outcomes, patterns of Usage of OER, and Perceptions of OER. This is the OpenEd Group’s COUP research framework. The OER Research Fellowship grants are administered and supported by the Open Education Group. Below is a list of the OER Research Fellows; a list of their publications on the COUP framework is also available.
A three-part training guide for bringing higher education instructors up to speed with Open Educational Resources (OER). This book was developed to serve as a standalone guide for independent creators and to support OER training through face-to-face, online, and hybrid delivery modes.
The goal of Open Educational Practice (OEP) is to build the knowledge, skills, and behaviors that support and improve teaching and learning. Using open educational resources (OER) presents unique affordances for educators, as the use of OER is an invitation to adapt, personalize, and add relevancy to materials that inspire and encourage deeper learning in the classroom and across institutions.
This guide is designed to help subject experts create online courses for learning circles: free, facilitated study groups for people who want to learn together. Guided by the principles of peer learning, learning circles offer much of the structure and community of formal education without the barriers to access.
By the end of this course, you should be able to: Define Open Educational Resources; Explain the rationale for OER adoption and use; Explain the differences between the six currently available Creative Commons licenses; Identify repositories and other resources for finding relevant OER; Use tools and criteria to evaluate OER; Recognize steps and associated criteria for adapting and creating OER with proper attribution and licensing; Create an open educational resource; Review the current landscape of OER in Texas Higher Education; Recognize different Texas legislation on OER
The goal of the Accessibility Toolkit - 2nd Edition is to provide resources for each content creator, instructional designer, educational technologist, librarian, administrator, and teaching assistant to create a truly open textbook—one that is free and accessible for all students. This is a collaboration between BCcampus, Camosun College, and CAPER-BC.
Affordable Learning Georgia’s Accessibility Guides are designed with USG faculty creators of OER in mind. The guides feature practical, step-by-step ways to make open content in the most common authoring programs accessible.
This guide is for faculty authors, librarians, project managers and others who are involved in the production of open textbooks in higher education and K-12. Content includes a checklist for getting started, publishing program case studies, textbook organization and elements, writing resources and an overview of useful tools.
The MERLOT Content Builder is a free website development tool. It is accessible by logged-in members from the MERLOT home page by clicking the Add menu at the top of the page and selecting Create Material with Content Builder.
Creating and Modifying Open Educational Resources, a chapter-by-chapter informational tutorial for USG faculty and staff interested in creating or adapting open educational resources. This tutorial does not cover the process of creating any resource, such as writing style, instructional design, and visual design, but rather discusses practices exclusive to creating an open educational resource.
1.6 billion works and counting. Explore these featured Creative Commons Licensed resources below — from literary works, to videos, photos, audio, open education, scientific research and more! Or you can share your work, and help light up the global commons!
Unless otherwise noted, all CC Certificate content is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International license (CC BY). Accessing this CC BY content is not a substitute for enrolling in the official course, and does not qualify you for CC Certification. While we encourage anyone to download, reuse, revise, remix and redistribute this content for any purpose, only Creative Commons may issue “CC Certificates.”
The dos and don’ts of designing for accessibility are general guidelines, best design practices for making services accessible in government. Currently, there are six different posters in the series that cater to users from these areas: low vision, D/deaf and hard of hearing, dyslexia, motor disabilities, users on the autistic spectrum and users of screen readers.
This book was written to help educators and instructional designers to design visually appealing courses (and curricular materials) that are also digitally accessible. I argue that applying graphic design principles reduces barriers, lowers cognitive load, and improves learning. I created the Graphic Design E-Learning Checklist to help instructional designers improve the look and feel of their courses while designing for inclusivity at the forefront.
A handbook for faculty interested in practicing open pedagogy by involving students in the making of open textbooks, ancillary materials, or other Open Educational Resources. This is a first edition, compiled by Rebus Community, and we welcome feedback and ideas to expand the text.
Our mission is to enable the community of accessible technology experts, advocates, and users to build an online community and collection of open education resources that can improve universal learning by facilitating the contribution and sharing of accessible technology information, expertise, and accessible online teaching and learning materials.
Remixable- Improve and change: remix resources to customize learning for your needs; Curate-able- Curate resources for a specific group or task using groups and folders; Findable- Search and find: get your resources out there, and find what you need
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some of our materials (also called open educational resources, or OER) are paired with low cost textbooks ($30 or less). Many of the courses can be taught at no cost to students. Unless otherwise noted, all materials are shared under a Creative Commons (CC BY) license.OCL courses and materials have undergone testing for accessibility and have been designed using the industry-standard Quality Matters (QM) rubric for assessing the quality of online courses.
This website is designed to serve as a resource for educators interested in learning more about Open Pedagogy. We invite you to browse through the examples, which include both classroom-tested practices and budding ideas, and to consider contributing examples of your own experiments with open pedagogy.
There are many ways to publish an open textbook. This curriculum aims to be a foundation in open textbook publishing, regardless of publishing platform. It is designed for people who support faculty authors in creating open textbooks.
You're invited to move through Pub101 in whatever way works best for you. That said, if you're not sure where to start, start at the beginning!
Course-in-a-Box is a free tool for building and publishing online courses—no prior coding experience required. This guide was made using Course-in-a-Box, so what you see here is what you’ll start with. There are three modules that walk through the course creation process.
Setup - Get your instance of Course-in-a-Box up and running
Content - Update the course structure and add your copy & media
Customize - Add some (optional) finishing touches
The BCcampus Open Education Self-Publishing Guide is a reference for individuals or groups wanting to write and self-publish an open textbook. This guide provides details on the preparation, planning, writing, publication, and maintenance of an open textbook.
Use Creative Commons tools to help share your work. Our free, easy-to-use copyright licenses provide a simple, standardized way to give your permission to share and use your creative work— on conditions of your choice. You can adopt one of our licenses by sharing on a platform, or choosing a license below.
This article deals with how to write a textbook, i.e. tries to formalize a few recipes. The first sections rather deal with principles.
Disclaimer: I am not a textbook writer. This is just based on a summary of some literature and a superficial analysis of some textbooks. My motivation was twofold: I had to write a small textbook for a distance teaching course on educational technology. I also plan to use this to improve tutorials in this wiki over time - Daniel K. Schneider 10:17, 24 September 2008.
In this article "are some arguments for open textbooks explained in more detail and updated with more recent research and data. But the gist is – open textbooks not only save students money, they can help improve student success, as well."