Explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s wide-ranging collection—from our world-renowned icons to lesser-known gems from every corner of the globe—as well as our books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.
If you are an educator, a learner or a parent interested in innovative learning, this is your place! Here you can find a selection of educational resources using digital culture. Please note, this content has mixed rights.
The National Gallery of Art has an open access policy for images of works of art in our permanent collection which the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are available for download free of charge for any use, whether commercial or non-commercial.
Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to more than 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
SMK Open is your gateway to knowledge about the country’s largest art collection. Here you’ll find information and resources relating to artworks collected by the Danish kings and subsequently the Danish state through centuries.
The Gallery participates in Yale University’s open-access policy and makes available thousands of images of public-domain works in its collection for immediate download. No permission from the Gallery is required to use our images of public-domain works. Simply search the collection, and click the “download” link beneath the image you would like to use.