OPEN FL: Images in the Open

Browse over 500 million images, available for reuse

Please note you must refine your topic search results to limit by CC Licenses to find Open materials.

Folger Shakespeare Library has licensed all of its images in the Digital Image Library under a CC BY-SA licens

Browse 3,839 public domain stock photos and images available, or search for public domain images to find more great stock photos and pictures.

Please note you must limit the usage rights to Creative Commons Licenses to find Open materials.

This page features items from the Library's digital collections that are free to use and reuse. The Library believes that this content is either in the public domain, has no known copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use. Each set of content is based on a theme and is first featured on the Library's home page.

Here you will find images of the day, NASA in the News, Image Library, Mission Gallaries, and Highlighted Collections.

MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. Our primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others interested in medical knowledge.

Images in the NOAA Photo Library are in the public domain and cannot be copyrighted. There is no fee for downloading any images on the site. Educational use is encouraged as the primary goal of the NOAA Photo Library is to help all understand our oceans and atmosphere.

Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections. A link to the copyright license type may be found below the individual Open-i image on the detailed view page. If copyright restrictions for an image are not specified or are unclear, please contact the journal that published the image.

Founded in 2004, Open Clipart is an online media collection of more than 160 000 vectorial graphics, entirely in the public domain.

All Photos on Pexels can be used for free. While the most photos are released under the Pexels license, some photos are covered by the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license.

Under the Pixabay License you are granted an irrevocable, worldwide, non-exclusive and royalty free right to use, download, copy, modify or adapt the Content for commercial or non-commercial purposes. Attribution of the photographer, videographer, musician or Pixabay is not required but is always appreciated. Please be aware that while all Content on Pixabay is free to use for commercial and non-commercial purposes, items in the Content, such as identifiable people, logos, brands, audio samples etc. may be subject to additional copyrights, property rights, privacy rights, trademarks etc. and may require the consent of a third party or the license of these rights - particularly for commercial applications.

High quality copyright friendly images, not copyrighted and no restriction for their use. Images explicitly placed in the public domain, no any rights reserved. Public domain images can be used for whatever you want, use it freely for any personal or commercial use.

The imagery showcased in the PHIL is historic in nature; the contents depicted, though appropriate at the time a photograph was captured, may no longer be appropriate in the context of the current time period, and is not to be viewed as a source of the most current public health information.

scienceimage is an image library specialising in science and nature images. It is presented by CSIRO, Australia's major science research organisation.
All images are free to download under aCreative Commons license.

The Images collection is a selection of digital still images which are the very best visual representation of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service mission - "working with others to conserve, protect and enhance fish, wildlife, and plants and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American people".

Choose from a curated selection of images licensed under the Unsplash license, a similar license to Creative Commons photos. Every image can be used for free for both commercial and personal uses thanks to the Unsplash community's photographers.

This Image Gallery is a complimentary source of high-quality digital photographs available from the Agricultural Research Service Office of Communications. Use keywords to search here for more than 6,500 images in our collection. 

The Photographic Collection is an archive of more than 500,000 still photographs, slides, glass plate slides, lantern slides, negatives, and sketches dating from the 1870s and taken by USGS scientists as part of their field studies. The images and photographers involved with this collection span a variety of styles, locations, and time periods. Subjects include earthquakes, volcanoes, geologic formations, minerals, historical mining operations, national parks, USGS portraits, and other photographs of historic and earth science events. USGS-authored or produced data, information and photographs are considered to be in the U.S. public domain. While the content of most USGS Web pages is in the U.S. public domain, not all information, illustrations, or photographs on our site are. Some non USGS photographs, images, and/or graphics that appear on USGS Web sites are used by the USGS with permission from the copyright holder. These materials are generally marked as being copyrighted.