Thank you for joining us for spring OER Bootcamp, FLVC Library Services' popular, annual event!
We re-energized with three days of afternoon webinars (2 p.m. to 4 p.m. ET), covering topics in open educational resources, from basic to more advanced.
Day 1 (Basic): Creative Commons Licenses and the Spectrum of Open, Wednesday, March 27, 2024 (Speakers: Danielle Campbell, Palm Beach State College & Rebel Cummings-Sauls, Elisabeth Ball, FLVC Library Services). Recording
Day 2 (Intermediate): OER and Tenure & Promotion, Thursday, March 28, 2024 (Speaker: Abbey Elder, Iowa State University) Recording
Day 3 (Advanced): Peer Review in OER--A Panel Discussion, Friday, March 29, 2024 (Panelists: Anthony Palmiotto, OpenStax; John McLeod, Pressbooks; Anita Walz, Virginia Tech; and Kaitlin Schilling, Rebus Community; Moderator: Rebel Cummings-Sauls, Director, FLVC Library Services, Digital Services/OER) Recording
Products and services that enable institutions to host digital collections, publish scholarly journals, provide discovery of collections, and more.
The purpose of this document is to guide the description of digital collection resources using Dublin Core, MODS, and MARC21 to facilitate access to Florida Academic Libraries’ Digital Collections (i.e. through catalog or discovery for patrons) from FLVC Library Services member institutions as well as the general public. The State-Wide Metadata Standards Subgroup of the Digital Initiatives Standing Committee (DISC) was established to develop metadata standards that could be used by Florida’s Academic Libraries to provide quality, control, and unification to the metadata amongst the vast, unique, and diverse digital collections held throughout the state of Florida. This document will address the description and discovery of digital collection resources by suggesting standards for a variety of metadata elements. These elements were chosen due to their importance with description and discovery for the intended audiences of the digital collection resources. Because of this it is encouraged that all eleven elements within this guide are applied to each digital collection resource, where possible and applicable. In general, the metadata elements should describe the original resource, not the digital representation.
Links to information on Ex Libris’ knowledge center about loading external collections:
Loading Records from External Sources into Primo VE
Loading external records into Primo VE (video)
Short video about loading external records (video, includes normalization rules)
Please see the document on TEAMS via this link which contains various notes about Digital harvesting in Primo VE.
The document includes the content we discussed at the 10/14 DISC meeting and notes from FLVC Library Services meeting with Ex Libris on 10/27. In addition to resource type standardization, Ex Libris identified a few other areas where the Discovery Working Group could use assistance with standardization. These items are in the linked document.
Ex Libris’ expectation is that they will provide the training and then the institutions/FLVC Library Services will configure profiles for and harvest the remaining collections. The profiles are considered “retained configuration” which means that they will not be wiped out when the Full Test Load phase is over. The data will need to be re-harvested, but the profiles will remain in Alma. The Full Test Load phase runs mid-February – late April.
Here are the links to the recording and slides from the webinar on Primo VE Configuration Form Review.
The links are also posted on the Implementation LibGuide.
FAQ
Do you know if the vendor has a previous example of Resource Type crosswalk? One from another consortia would be great.
Short Answer: No.
Vendor Reply:
Unfortunately, I don't have or maintain examples of Resource Types. Resource Types and their usage can vary widely (or not) from collection to collection. My suggestion is to develop a master list relevant to Florida Library Services. You can always inquire on the Primo Listserv, if you have Resource Type issues of special concern.
Also, are we able to add new resource types that are not in the current right side of the form? I.e. Thesis. These are not dissertations and would not be a good fit in “dissertations” but also deserve not to be listed as “other.”
Short Answer: Yes, but we are allowed only 20 local resource types whether for bibs or digital. The Discovery working group is looking at this now. The "20" applies to both areas. DISC will have to propose resource types for consideration with the other local resource types that might be added.
Also please note that could change the label of the example to Dissertations/Theses as an option.
Vendor Reply:
The OTB existing Primo VE Resource Types and how they are assigned are explained in the first two documentation links below. Not all of the Resource Types suggested by the mapping column 2 of the above documents are part of the OTB set. Anything new or not in the existing list would have to be added as a Primo VE Local Resource Type, as per the third documentation link below. The 20 local resource types limit applies to all Primo VE, digital or otherwise.
Yes, you can rename "dissertations" to "dissertations/theses" via the Labels table "Facet Resource Type Labels" - in Discovery UI Labels code table (Configuration Menu > Discovery > Display Configuration > Label), see the fourth documentation link below. I would recommend that you consider how complete of a list of Local Resource Types you want to maintain ongoing, before taking on too many or too fine of a granularity.
Primo VE existing Resource Types:
Documentation: "Mapping to the Display, Facets, and Search Sections in the Primo VE Record" - "MARC21 and KORMARC - "Mapping Resource Types in Primo VE" - "MARC21 and KORMARC - Resource Type Mapping" ExLibris' Page: Mapping to the Display, Facets, and Search Sections in the Primo VE Record
Documentation: "Supported Resource Types in Primo VE": Ex Libris' Supported Resource Types in PrimoVE page and "Configuring Local Resource Types for Primo VE: Ex Libris' Page
Adding new Primo VE Local Resource Types:
Documentation: "Configuring Local Resource Types for Primo VE"
Primo VE Display Labels:
Documentation: "Configuring Display Labels for Primo VE"
I hope this helps clarify.
Can we copy digital collection profiles down from the union Primo to the local?
Short Answer: Yes
Vendor Reply:
"Resources > Import > Manage Import Profiles" then select the "Network" tab. On the ellipses, there is a copy option. For more information, please review the "Managing Import Profiles" documentation link.
Documentation: "Managing Import Profiles" - "Creating/Editing an Import Profile: General Profile Information"
and Editing_an_Import_Profile:_General_Profile_Information
Are the "Resource Types" for the digital repositories a seperate list from the resource types for Alma. Can someone confirm?”
The link Sharai and Terry put in the chat describes the resource types in Primo VE. Note that these are not material types as used in Alma. We are used to Material type/resource type/format being nearly synonymous in Mango, but that’s not the case in Alma/Primo VE. The link below should jump directly to the section on resource types.
Mapping to the Display, Facets, and Search Sections in the Primo VE Record
For bibs, the table labeled MARC21 and KORMARC Resource type mapping lists the possible resource types in the first column. The resource types are derived from bib fields as listed in the table. For digital repositories, the Dublin Core mapping section in this documentation states: Primo VE determines a record's resource type based on the existence of the following fields in order: discovery:resourceType field, dcterms:type field, and dc:type field. Since the resource type comes from the Dublin core metadata, I looked to that documentation for the resource types used. They are listed here: https://www.dublincore.org/specifications/dublin-core/resource-typelist/
The Primo VE – Digital Repository tab on the Configuration Spreadsheet has that section headed this way:
|
From DC Resource Type (dc:type / dcterms:type) |
To Primo Resource Type |
Staff must map the dc type in the first column to the primo resource type in the second column. The second column is pre-populated with the list as shown in Ex Libris’ documentation at the link above. This is the section that DISC is helping us with because we need to have all the mappings the same. For example, dc type of image should be mapped for everyone to the Primo resource type of image, dc type of model must be mapped to Primo resource type of realia (or mapped to Primo resource type of other, as long as this mapping is the same for all 40).
In addition to the out-of-the-box resource types, we are able to identify 20 local resource types as described here: Configuring Local Resource Types for Primo VE. This is something the discovery WG has been working on. Ex Libris’ recommendation and what the working group agrees is that the 20 local resource types need to be the same across all 40 institutions so that “headphones” appear as “headphones” no matter which Primo VE view is being looked at. This is just an example—not one that has already been decided. What Florida Library Services learned recently is that the 20 local resource types span both bibs and digital. In other words, we can add local resource types for bibs and local resource types for digital, but it’s not 20 per each category. It’s 20 local resource types across both categories.
What format types are we using in the Florida Open Academic Library (FOAL)? ( for 2020)
Book (8)
Cartographic (77)
Finding Aid (16,876)
Mixed Material (900)
Mixed Materials (1)
Moving Image (596)
Notated Music (745)
OER (786)
Online Resource (1,131,745)
PDF (56,698)
Poster (1)
Software, Multimedia (21)
Sound Recording (54)
Sound Recording-musical (125)
Sound Recording-nonmusical (27)
Still Image (63,005)
Text (72,712)
Three Dimensional Object (16)
Video (2)
Deleted or hidden records are still showing in Primo, how can I remove these from Primo VE?
Clearing the Harvest Start Date field in the import profile then running Reload and Delete fixed the problem.
Things to think about when starting digitization or digital preservation services:
1. Staffing
Dedicated, permanent staff can be a critical first piece of a new program. Temporary or student staffing should be used to support and not manage this type of service. If you must rely on temporary staffing it is crucial to document the workflow and decisions, including where digital files are stored, which type of file you created (i.e. master, access, edited), content rights, use permissions, and all contracts/paperwork.
Can we use existing facilities/staff, or do we need to hire?
2. Equipment
Equipment is an obvious and important part of digitization. Please reach out to members to discuss their experience with equipment before making a new purchase.
3. Digital Asset Management System (DAMS)
A digital asset management system (DAMS) will provide discovery and access to your digital collections and archives. Public post secondary institutions in Florida may set up one FL-Islandora site per institution, contact help@flvc.org for assistance.
4. Strategy
A good first step is to set strategic direction for your services by answering these questions:
Look around at what others are doing. Digital projects and programs that impress you are a great resource for strategic planning. Contact them to talk and found out: What did they do? What do they recommend? What didn’t work for them?
It's okay to build digital collections project by project. You do not have to have a full program planned out to begin. Start with what's important, has funding, and/or is in a deteriorating state. You can find webinars on digital project selection and planning here from FSU: https://swfln.org/recorded-webinars/
Through collaboration with our member libraries we are pleased to announce the launch of the Florida Open Academic Library. Developed to include multiple platforms across our members, this index provides "a statewide searchable database that includes an inventory of digital archives and collections held by public postsecondary education institutions" (§ F.S. 1006.73 (2)(a)4). The Digital Services and OER team worked with stakeholders across FLVC Library Services member institutions to review a sampling of digital collection display records and gather recommendations for improvements to the index within the discovery layer provided by FLVC Library Services. The features and functionality of the first phase of index was based off of the recommendations included within the Digital Services and OER March MCLS Digital Collections Index Recommendations Report and feedback gathered on the demo site. Platforms harvested for the live site will include all collections contained in the Inventory of Digital Libraries and Collections Held by Florida Public Universities and State Colleges 2018 Update, all collections within FLVC Library Services hosted platforms (i.e. FL-Islandora, Florida OJ, Orange Grove), and identified statewide OER collections (i.e. Open Textbook Library, Open Stax). Additional feedback is always welcomed and can be provided to help@flvc.org.
The Florida Online Journals (Florida OJ) program can work with your library to publish and produce open access journals. If you need a publishing system for your journal, Florida OJ can provide a free platform and technical support. Editors using Florida OJ may use the platform to have journal authors submit and edit manuscripts and publish their journal issues to the world wide web. Florida OJ, like journal publishing platforms you may be familiar with, supports basic search and browse features for hosted journals. In addition, editors may use the platform to facilitate national indexing (i.e. with the Directory of Open Access Journals), provide RSS feeds for integrating your content into other sites, generate automatic email notifications for users, and several other features. If you want to know more about these available features or you wish to request a new journal site hosted with Florida OJ please:
In June 2019, Florida OJ was upgraded to Open Journal Systems (OJS) version 3, which resulted in a more modern interface. Information on the upgrade process and training information for the new OJS version can be found on the OJS 2 to 3 Upgrade page. Current Florida OJ Editors and Administrators may find it helpful to join our Florida OJ Listserv.
A digital library platform, Florida Islandora (FL-Islandora), enables users to create digital collections and make them accessible to the public. FL-Islandora sites are available free of charge to public universities and community colleges in Florida. If you would like a FL-Islandora site for your institution, contact help@flvc.org to request more information. Libraries using the FL-Islandora platform can find detailed instructions on the Florida Islandora Guides (FIG) wiki and can stay up to date with news about the system shared through the Florida Islandora listserv. Islandora SubGroup (ISG) meetings are held monthly between FLVC Library Services and libraries using FL-Islandora; Agendas and links to these meetings are posted on the Islandora SubGroup (ISG) LibGuides page. FL-Islandora was recently enhanced and updated to improve user experiences.
Gallery of sites hosted on FL-Islandora:
Excel to MODS Transformer was created to assist FL-Islandora administrators in creating MODS descriptive metadata for their materials. This service allows administrators to catalog using Excel spreadsheet templates which are then transformed into MODS XML files that can then be loaded directly into FL-Islandora.
For more information on FLVC's PURL 2.0, see this page within this guide.
Publication of Archival, Library and Museum Materials (PALMM) supports the cooperative building of shared collections using common standards and a shared infrastructure by providing digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship. Projects may involve a single university or college or may be involve collaborative efforts between a university or college and partners within or outside of the state university or college system. PALMM projects create high-quality virtual collections relevant to the students, research community, and citizens of Florida. Detailed PALMM documentation is available. Click here to visit the PALMM collections homepage
FLVC/FL Library Services provides limited support for the long-term preservation of digital content. Please see the Digital Preservation Libguide for a brief overview of long-term digital preservation topics, standards, and services.
DAITSS (Dark Archives In The Sunshine State) is an open source digital preservation software application developed for the Florida Digital Archive and is available to any other repository. DAITSS provides automated support for the functions of submission, ingest, archival storage, access, withdrawal, and repository management, and is particularly well suited for materials in text, document, image, audio, and video formats. The DAITSS software is OAIS and PREMIS (Preservation Metadata: Implementation Strategies) conformant. For more information on DAITSS please see the METS DAITSS SIP Profile and the Table of Recommended Data Formats for Preservation Purposes.
The Florida Digital Archive was the first fully OAIS (Open Archival Information System ISO 14721:2003) conformant repository in production in the United States. During the December 2018 meeting of the Members Council of Library Services (MCLS), a motion was passed to sunset the Florida Digital Archive and return archival packages to affiliates. In accordance with this motion in 2019 FLVC Library Services took steps to ensure removal and safe transfer of this content.
Note: Each institution will be responsible for paying for their ArchivesSpace hosting fee at a discounted rate negotiated by FLVC/FL Library Services (Savings of ~$39,000 statewide). This arrangement is available to *all* FLVC Library Services member libraries; new institutions may join in June or January of each year.
The ArchivesSpace Training center can be accessed at: https://docs.archivesspace.org. Announcements will be sent, and workflows will be shared between institutions using the listserv FLVC-ARCHIVES-MIGRATION@LISTSERV.FLVC.ORG, which any interested parties may subscribe to by sending a request to help@flvc.org. With the migration to ArchivesSpace Lyrasis is providing a central search portal for Florida Archival Finding Aids:
Databases available through this server include:
Archie Carr Center for Sea Turtle Research: http://st.cits.fcla.edu/st.jsp
FORMIS: http://fm.cits.fcla.edu/fm.jsp
London Times Index (1906-1980): http://lt.cits.fcla.edu/lt.jsp
Independent Florida Alligator Index 1984-1991: http://np.cits.fcla.edu/np.jsp
Florida Times Union Index (1986-1997): http://nj.cits.fcla.edu/nj.jsp
Florida Documents Index (1967 - ): http://sr.cits.fcla.edu/sr.jsp
Citrus Greening Bibliography: http://cg.cits.fcla.edu/cg.jsp
By appointment, digital services consultations are available:
Rebel Cummings-Sauls
Director of Digital Services and Open Education Resources (OER)
M.L.I.S, Florida State University; B.S., Information Studies, Florida State University
Elisabeth Ball
Simonne Jackson
Digital Services and OER Support Specialist
B.S., Information Technology: Network Systems Operations, University of West Florida
Digital Services and OER Support Specialist
A.S., Graphic Design Technology; A.S., Internet Services Tech; A.A., General Social & Behavior Science, Santa Fe College
Shaping lifelong learners in the State of Florida by enhanced and enriched support of the learning experience with cost effective leadership and collaboration with the Florida Libraries' digital community of higher education.
The mission of the Digital Services and Open Educational Resources unit is to provide high-quality, affordable, and collaborative resources and services for Florida public postsecondary institutions that enhance learning, teaching, and research through facilitated access to a user-centric, open access treasury of unique cultural heritage materials, education resources, textbooks, scholarly communications, and original research.
Florida Statute, § F.S. 1006.73 https://www.flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2019/1006.73
Members Council, https://libraries.flvc.org/members-council, provides input on the suite of services that FLVC Library Services offers to the students and staff of Florida's public college and university libraries, including the digital services listed above. The Members Council is composed of one presidentially appointed representative from each institution. All business of the group are governed by the MCLS Operating Procedures.
Input and feedback gathered though the Help Desk and user groups, https://listserv.flvc.org.
2020
2019
2018
2016
2015
2012
2011
2010
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
