LibGuides: Digital Collections and Archives: Get Involved

Ways to Get Involved

Join the Digital EcoSystem Community
This discussion list is open to anyone who wants to discuss anything related to digital services.

Library Conference Planner
One-stop library conference planning resource since 2002.

Scholarly Communication Notebook (SCN)
Please direct questions to Will Cross (wmcross@ncsu.edu), Josh Bolick (jbolick@ku.edu), or Maria Bonn (mbonn@illinois.edu).
In addition to the open textbook for teaching scholarly communication, we are developing an online community/repository that we are calling the Scholarly Communication Notebook (SCN), which we hope will become the locus of an active, inclusive, empowered community of practice for teaching scholarly communications to emerging librarians. We are consciously modelling the SCN on Robin DeRosa and Rajiv Jhangiani’s Open Pedagogy Notebook. Like OPN, the Scholarly Communication Notebook will host community-designed examples of teaching and doing scholarly communication that we hope will be regularly refreshed by librarians from across the field as well as LIS faculty and students completing coursework on these topics.

Look back at our Summer 2024 Digitization Series!

RECORDING, Tuesday, June 4, 2024 Grant Opportunities with the National Historic Publications and Records Commission
Learn more about exciting grant opportunities with the National Historic Publications and Records Commission, the grant-making arm of the National Archives. In this session the Director for Publishing Programs will talk about their program to support Collaborative Digital Editions.The goal of this program is to provide access to, and editorial context for, the historical documents and records that tell the American story. Projects may focus on broad historical movements in U.S. history, including any aspect of African American, Asian American, Hispanic American, and Native American history, such as law (including the social and cultural history of the law), politics, social reform, business, military, the arts, and other aspects of the national experience. Julie Fisher, Ph.D., Director for Publishing Programs, National Historical Publications and Records Commission, National Archives and Records Administration.
RECORDING Tuesday, June 11, 2024 Processing Born Digital Materials
This presentation will detail the workflows used by the team at University at Buffalo's Special Collections to process born-digital records such as working with donors, initial collection review, describing digital records, and working with hybrid collections. Sarah Cogley is the Digital Archivist and Grace Trimper is the Digital Archives Technician at the University of Buffalo Libraries.
Slides for Born Digital Presentation
RECORDING, Tuesday, June 18, 2024 Digital Preservation Basics with Storage Media and Digital Forensics
This workshop will introduce you to the basics of digital preservation. It will empower those without a background in computers or coding to feel confident doing digital preservation in archives!

The presentation will help identify different storage media encountered in archival collections as well as introduce digital forensics tools to help with data integrity and authenticity. Finally, participants will have an opportunity to experiment with Library of Congress’s Bagger software to demonstrate how you might transfer files safely off hardware and generate metadata while you do it! Ashlyn Velte is the Senior Processing Archivist and Assistant Professor at the University of Colorado Boulder Libraries Rare and Distinctive collections. She is responsible for processing planning, collection management, and setting local processing workflows based on professional standards. Her areas of research include social media archiving, digital archiving with limited resources, and access to collections with and privacy. She graduated from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 2016 with her MSLS and a certificate in Digital Curation.
SLIDES for Digital Forensics Webinar
RECORDING provided by CARLI, Tuesday, July 16, 2024 Newspaper Digitization and Preservation at Illinois
William Schlaack details newspaper digitization and best practices at the University of Illinois. Described are the selection, collation, quality control, and digital preservation elements to newspaper digitization. Special attention is given to the work done as a part of the National Digital Newspaper Program.
Digital POWRR: Digital Preservation 101
Event postponed. CARLI will reach out to everyone registered when rescheduled.
RECORDING provided by CARLI, Tuesday, July 30, 2024 Metadata in Digital Content: A Look at Shareable Metadata in Aggregation Services
Megan Pearson, Project Coordinator for the Illinois Digital Heritage Hub (IDHH), the Illinois Hub for the DPLA, shares her experience with aggregating metadata and working with metadata created by other institutions, including standardization practices and methods used by the IDHH, and offer some thoughts on how to create shareable metadata across environments.

Past Digital Services Session Recordings

Managing Digital Collections: Case Studies in the Ethics of Privacy

March 16, 2021

2:00pm

This session explores the often unforeseen challenges and issues associated with the creation and management of digital collections and the privacy concerns that can arise. We will explore how to handle the need for digital anonymity on the part of content creators facing issues such as stalking, harassment, and violence. We will also discuss how to deal with the need for privacy when it stems from issues such as plagiarism and false claims of ownership that are almost always unexpected. We will offer possible solutions and creative ways in which FIU has helped its students, faculty and researchers maintain their privacy, while simultaneously balancing our institutional goals of open access and accessibility of resources. Our hope is to provide a framework of best practices based on these examples.

Presenters:

Kelley Rowan, FIU Digital Archives Librarian
Rebecca Bakker, FIU Digital Collections Librarian

Attendees can join this session through Teams, please email Rebel Cummings-Sauls at rsauls@flvc.org.

Research on this topic forthcoming at: https://www.henrystewartpublications.com/jdmm/forthcoming.

Recording

Slides

Research

Metadata-from-Home: A Digital Collections Project During COVID-19

March 19, 2021

2:00 pm ET

The COVID-19 pandemic and the resulting shift to working from home (WFH) and online education proved a boon for digital collections. Not only can digital collections provide researchers remote access to rare and unique archival materials, but the metadata work that facilitates its discovery can be adapted to a WFH environment. At Clemson University Libraries, the metadata team facilitated a WFH project where 15 Libraries employees across two units are helping to describe a collection of over 2400 photographs. This project rose to the challenges of providing meaningful work to colleagues while working from home, empowering them to learn new skills and gain stronger understanding of metadata work, all while speeding up the timeframe for making this collection accessible online. This presentation provides a brief overview of the project workflow, including how training, communication, and quality control were managed remotely.

Presenters:

Scott Dutkiewicz, Clemson University
Jessica Serrao, Clemson University
Charlotte Grubbs, Clemson University

Recording